Semi-Homemade Sausage and Lentil Vegetable Soup

13 Sep

I love absolutely love soup.  Creamy soup, brothy soup, chunky soup… doesn’t matter!  Put soup in front of me (vegan of course) and I’ll be one happy camper (:

But I know we don’t always have the time to make soup from scratch, or maybe we just don’t feel like going through all the trouble.  Well I’ve come up with my favorite semi-homemade cheat soup that tastes like you slaved over it for hours!

20130913-122610.jpg

Semi-Homemade Sausage and Lentil Vegetable Soup

Serves 2

1/2 cup dry lentils

1 1/2 cups water

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 link sausage (I use Field Roast brand Smoked Apple Sage, but any flavor/brand you prefer will work), crumbled or cubed

1 carton vegetable soup (I use Dr. McDouggall’s brand Light Sodium Garden Vegetable Soup)

Simply Organic brand Grind to a Salt, to taste

Red pepper flakes, optional (I use The Spice Hunter brand Fiery Chile Fusion)

Sea Salt and fresh ground black pepper, as needed

1/2 cup mozzarella cheese (I use Daiya brand shredded mozzarella)

Diections:

Cook the lentils according to package directions.

In a large dutch oven, heat the olive oil over medium heat then add the sausage.  Cook the sausage until well browned.  Pour in the vegetable soup.  Stir well with a spoon being sure to scrape all the sausage bits from the bottom of the pan.  Add the lentils and seasoning.

20130913-122544.jpg

20130913-122554.jpg

20130913-122600.jpg

20130913-122617.jpg

Serve with 1/4 cup cheese and enjoy!

Don’t forget to have a cupcake for dessert (:

20130913-122627.jpg

One Response to “Semi-Homemade Sausage and Lentil Vegetable Soup”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Autumn Spice Mix: Chai Spice | we heart vegan - September 17, 2013

    […] love my food cravings in autumn… apple pie, spiced cakes, hearty soups, tea… anything warm and anything spiced! My favorite go-to autumn spices are always cinnamon, […]

Leave a Reply

