Secret Recipe Club August: Smashed White Bean and Avocado Spread

19 Aug

Another Secret Recipe Club post come and gone and another summer almost at it’s end!  I can’t even believe it!  Time flies when you’re havin’ fun I guess (:

This month for my SRC post I as assigned Juanita’s Cocina, a wonderfully written and designed food blog by Jen.  Every blog I am assigned always has it’s difficulties due to the fact that I live a plant-based life, but that doesn’t stop me from drooling over almost all of Jen’s amazing recipes!!  Why am I forced to only choose one recipe… No fair!!

In the end, I decided to go with a nice, simple bean spread with my favorite ingredient: avocado <3

20130819-002904.jpg

Smashed White Bean and Avocado Spread

Serves 4-6

 

1 can great northern beans, drained

1/4 bunch green onions (about 8 stalks), diced

1/4 teaspoon crushed garlic (I used jarred)

Heaping pinch pink Himalayan sea salt

1 ripe avocado, roughly chopped

 

Directions:

 

In a medium bowl with a spoon or fork, roughly mash the beans with the green onions, garlic, and sea salt.  Mash to your desired consistency. I left some of the beans whole, but feel free to mash until smooth.

20130819-002912.jpg

Add the avocado and mash together until completely combined.

20130819-002926.jpg

20130819-002918.jpg

Enjoy this bean spread as a condiment for sandwiches, a dip for veggies, or simply on toast as a nice appetizer or snack (just like Nigella Lawson’s “Breakfast Toast”).

 
Secret Recipe Club

10 Responses to “Secret Recipe Club August: Smashed White Bean and Avocado Spread”

  1. coconutandberries August 19, 2013 at 4:45 am #

    I love avocado on toast and love the idea of including white beans in the mix for a protein boost :) The secret recipe club sounds like a lot of fun.

  2. Jen @JuanitasCocina August 19, 2013 at 6:58 am #

    Yay! So glad you found something to enjoy in your kitchen! This is one of my favorite spreads in the world!

  3. Teri Scholl August 19, 2013 at 9:57 am #

    This looks so delicious!! I’m going to make this for a girls weekend I have coming up! I think it’s going to be a big hit. Thank you for the recipe!! <3

  4. culinarycam August 19, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    I’m visiting from Group A – I did an orphan rescue that posted today. I LOVE the look of this recipe. I will definitely be making it soon. Thanks for sharing with the SRC.

  5. Deanna Segrave-Daly (@tspbasil) August 19, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    I love how simple yet how delicious this looks and sounds (and I got some of that awesome Himalayan sea salt in my pantry too!)

  6. Lisa {AuthenticSuburbanGourmet} August 19, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    Love, love the simplicity of this recipe. Tasty!!! Glad to be part of SRC group C with you.

  7. authenticsuburbangourmet August 19, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    Love, love the simplicity of this recipe. TASTY! Glad to be part of SRC group C with you.

  8. cinnamonfreud August 20, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

    Yum, this looks like a great lunch or snack

  9. debbidoesdinner August 20, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

    My family doesn’t get that I could totally eat this for dinner all the time! This looks awesome, my kind of meal!

  10. Margaret August 20, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

    My SIL would LOVE this one.

Leave a Reply

