Lentil Soup + Meat Free Athlete

2 Aug

Hey guys! I’ve been sharing some links and news on Twitter, but I haven’t made it public here yet… I’m part of the Meat Free Athlete community!! Yay! I’m so excited to be sharing my recipes there (and still here of course :D).

And in case you missed it on the MFA blog… here’s my recipe for some hearty, healthy lentil and vegetable soup!

lentil

Hearty Lentil and Vegetable Soup

Serves 4-6

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 medium shallots, diced

1 medium sweet potato, chopped small

2-3 carrots, chopped small

4-5 celery stalks, chopped small

1 red bell pepper, diced

2 teaspoons minced garlic

4 cups water or broth (my favorite broth is Rapunzel brand vegan vegetable bouillon with sea salt)

1 package (12 ounces) cooked lentils (I use Melissa’s brand steamed lentils; find them at Whole Foods Market, Trader Joe’s, and in the produce section of most grocery stores) or cook your own

Fresh ground black pepper, to taste

Red pepper flakes or The Spice Hunter brand Salt Free Fiery Chile Fusion, optional

Directions:

In a large saucepan over medium heat, add the olive oil and shallots, cook until softened, then add the sweet potato; cook for 3-5 minutes.  Add the carrots, celery, red bell pepper, and garlic and cook until the vegetables are tender, another 3-5 minutes.

Add the remaining ingredients, cook until heated through, then serve!  This soup tastes great the next day so get excited for leftovers!!

More news…

I’ve become a VitaMix affiliate!!

What does that mean for you?  FREE SHIPPING!  Follow [ this link ] or click the VitaMix icon on the right sidebar of my homepage and you’ll be redirected to VitaMix.com where you will get free shipping on your order!

:D

2 Responses to “Lentil Soup + Meat Free Athlete”

  1. veganmiam.com August 11, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    Vitamix is on my wish list, I need one! Which one did you use that is great for everything else? I love the Lentil and Vegetable Soup, looks so hearty and delicious.

    • veg-unite August 13, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

      Yay the VitaMix is my most favorite appliance ever!! I use the model 5200 and it can be used for it all! There is a separate blender cup that you can purchase separately for making flours and nut butters (easier than in the regular blender cup).

      Definitely use my code on the sidebar for free shipping!! Let me know when you get it and how it goes! I’m excited for you (:

Leave a Reply

