My First Recipe Redux! Crunchy Chickpea Trail-Mix

21 Jun

I’m so excited about my new membership with the Recipe ReDux!! :D This month’s theme is “sowing seasonal seeds” so I made some protein packed trail-mix that everyone could love! For my seeds, I chose both sunflower and pumpkin seeds. I love all seeds and nuts and include them daily in my vegan diet. In addition to containing protein and many vitamins and minerals, both sunflower and pumpkin seeds are excellent sources of vitamin E, an antioxidant that helps prevent free radicals from oxidizing cholesterol, which plays an important role in the prevention of cardiovascular disease [source]!!

20130621-175305.jpg

Crunchy Chickpea Trail-mix

Serves 6-8

1/3 cup raisins

1/3 cup each cashews, almonds, and soybeans

1/3 cup sunflower seeds

1/3 cup pumpkin seeds

Baked crunchy chickpeas (recipe below)

Directions:

Combine all ingredients together and stir well. That’s it! Store in an airtight container and enjoy!

20130621-175009.jpg

20130621-175016.jpg

Baked Crunchy Chickpeas

2 cans chickpeas, rinsed and drained

2 Tbsp. sunflower seed oil

Seasoning to taste (For seasoning I used The Spice Hunter brand Fiery Chile Fusion grinder, salt free, and Simply Organic brand Grind to a Salt)

Fresh ground black pepper

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 420 degrees fahrenheit. In a mixing bowl, combine all ingredients and mix well to coat every chickpea in oil and spice. Spread out onto a nonstick baking sheet and bake for 45-50 minutes, stirring half way through. Let cool then enjoy!!

20130621-174911.jpg

20130621-174947.jpg

Thank you to Simply Organic brand for sending me goodies! I have been using Grind to a Salt on and in everything, including my steamed veggies, pasta sauce, and over top salads to add extra flavor! I can’t wait to try more of their amazing products :D

20130621-182422.jpg

 



7 Responses to “My First Recipe Redux! Crunchy Chickpea Trail-Mix”

  1. coconutandberries June 22, 2013 at 6:41 am #

    Great idea on adding the chickpeas, they look so crunchy and delicious. I bet they make the trail mix filling but a little lighter than all nuts.

  2. Serena June 22, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    What a great idea to make chick peas into a trail mix! I love them roasted…havent combined them with other energy foods. Yum!

  3. Rachel @ The Conscious Dietitian June 25, 2013 at 12:33 am #

    welcome to recipe redux! what an awesome first post! I can’t wait to try this, I always recommend snacks like this to patients but to be honest I have never made one myself.

    One ore question, how did you manage to hide all the other participants of recipe redux links? Just wondering as I would like to as well!!

    Thanks again!
    Rachel

    • veg-unite June 25, 2013 at 12:45 am #

      Thanks Rachel!! To answer your question about hiding others… I don’t do it on purpose, it’s just the way the WordPress link works for me! Sorry I couldn’t help you!

  4. Lauren June 25, 2013 at 9:13 am #

    What a great recipe! I love the idea of chickpeas in trail mix, I never would have thought of that! I’m interning with Meal Makeover Moms this summer, and I am looking forward to your next recipe redux!

  5. Kelly Sloan June 27, 2013 at 3:05 am #

    Ooo I like the creativity for trail mix! I will definitely try this recipe.

  6. Deanna Segrave-Daly (@tspbasil) July 13, 2013 at 10:05 pm #

    Whoo hoo – welcome to ReDux! So fun to know you through SRC and excited to have you on board. Loving the creativity behind your trail mix. I’ve roasted chickpeas before but have never took them beyond that – looks so yum

Leave a Reply

