Secret Recipe Club May: Stuffed Zucchini

20 May

20130519-183515.jpg

This was one of my hardest reveal months to date!! I need to remember to never ever make my Secret Recipe Club food more than a day before reveal… it is so so hard not to share pictures!!! In addition to the agony of feeling the itch to share, I also wanted to tell Gloria, the author of The Ginger Snap Girl, just how happy I was to veganize one of her recipes!! Well now she knows (:

It definitely took me a while to find a recipe. I was tempted to veganize snickerdoodles and then I was tempted by the look and sound of tomato basil bruschetta, but the winning dish is something that I have been meaning to make for some time now: stuffed zucchini! Gloria’s recipe was very simple and that definitely appealed to me since I am currently living at Vdara, which is a hotel with 2 stove top burners and no oven (but we bought a great tabletop convection toaster oven that has been a life saver)!

Mexican Stuffed Zucchini

Serves 4 as a side dish

5-6 medium zucchini, sliced in half lengthwise
1/2 medium yellow onion, diced small
1 medium green bell pepper, diced small
1/2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
1 Tbsp. taco seasoning (I used Simply Organic brand Southwest Taco)
3/4 cup veggie grounds (I used Helen’s Kitchen brand Organic Veggie Ground)
Salt and fresh ground black pepper, to taste
1/2 cup dairy-free mozzarella cheese (I used Daiya brand)
Breadcrumbs as needed

Directions:

Prepare the zucchini boats: slice the zucchini in half lengthwise then, using a strong, small spoon, carve out the seeds and some of the zucchini meat, reserving about 1/4-1/2 cup meat for the filling, making a cavity (there’s your boat).

20130519-182937.jpg

20130519-182948.jpg

20130519-183008.jpg

In a medium nonstick pan, sauté the onion and green bell pepper in olive oil until softened. Once softened, add the taco seasoning, zucchini meat, veggie grounds, and Daiya cheese. Stir well and cook until the cheese is melted. Season well with salt and fresh ground black pepper.

20130519-183044.jpg

20130519-183058.jpg

20130519-183109.jpg

20130519-183119.jpg

Fill each zucchini boat with the taco grounds, top each with a tablespoon or two of bread crumbs and bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes, or until the zucchini is tender and the filling is hot and bubbly. Enjoy!!

20130519-183150.jpg

20130519-183510.jpg

Secret Recipe Club



11 Responses to “Secret Recipe Club May: Stuffed Zucchini”

  1. ps152 (@ps152) May 20, 2013 at 1:44 am #

    I could definitely use more vegetarian recipes like this one. Delicious!

  2. debbidoesdinner May 20, 2013 at 8:25 am #

    I haven’t made stuffed zucchinis in a long, long time. I’ve forgotten how good they are! These look wonderful, I’m adding these to the list for sure!

  3. AmandaE May 20, 2013 at 10:37 am #

    These look great! Love that you could add just about any veggie based on what’s in season – perfect summer time dish :-) Great SRC pick

  4. SeattleDee May 20, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    Mexican Zucchini Boats rock! These will be a perfect way to use the bumper crop of vegetables this summer.

  5. Erin @ Making Memories May 20, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

    Oh man. I could eat stuffed zucchini for breakfast! I love it. This looks wonderful!

  6. Karen - Cinnamon Freud May 20, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

    Love your twist on stuffed zucchini. Looks good!

  7. Melissa May 21, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    This looks good! Great SRC choice!

  8. juanitascocina May 21, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    I love stuffed zucchini! LOVE the flavors in this dish!

  9. Deanna Segrave-Daly (@tspbasil) May 21, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

    I have to remember this one for when zucchini season hits us head-on :)

  10. Gloria - The Ginger Snap Girl May 25, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    Sorry for the late reply. So glad you enjoyed the recipe and were able to make it vegan. I love the Mexican twist as well. I will have to give that a try next time I make these. Thanks for the kind words!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. May webfinds: Summer recipe ideas and easy ways to slow down | The Cayenne Room - May 31, 2013

    […] problem of over-producing zucchini plants. Try using them in place of taco shells, as in this stuffed zucchini recipe from We Heart […]

Leave a Reply

