Secret Recipe Club March: Spinach and Grape Salad

18 Mar

This month’s post for Secret Recipe Club is exciting for so many reasons!! First off, I was assigned an awesome blog Cookin’ with Moxie.  Second off, Jamie, the wonderful author, is from Boston just like me!!  And thirdly… it’s my birthday (: Oh, and did I mention I moved to Las Vegas?!

It was hard to choose a recipe of course, but alas, I had to make the hard decision of choosing just one.  The recipe I came across happens to also be a Secret Recipe Club recipe: Summer Spinach and Grape Salad.  Now seeing as I am in Las Vegas enjoying weather I wouldn’t have normally had the chance to enjoy (still freezing in Boston), I thought it was a great time to make a cool, healthy summer salad!

20130317-233939.jpg

Spinach and Grape Salad

Serves 6-8

1 large bag baby spinach

1 1/2 cups red grapes, sliced

1 small red onion, diced

1 large cucumber, diced

Dressing:

2 Tbsp. dijon mustard

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

2 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar

2 Tbsp. water

2 packets Truvia (or stevia, to taste)

Sea salt and fresh ground black pepper, to taste

Directions:

In a small mixing bowl, combine the ingredients for the dressing.  Whisk well to combine.  Set aside in the refrigerator while you prepare the salad.

1

20130317-233759.jpg

In a large salad bowl, toss to combine the spinach, grapes, onion, and cucumber.

20130317-233700.jpg

Dressing the entire salad will make storing for leftovers impossible, unless you like soggy greens!  So unless you plan on serving or eating the entire salad, dress the salad to order.  Enjoy on its own, topped with your favorite protein, or as a side (:

20130317-233944.jpg

Secret Recipe Club



6 Responses to “Secret Recipe Club March: Spinach and Grape Salad”

  1. Jamie @ Cookin' with Moxie March 18, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

    Nice SRC pic from my blog! Too bad you don’t still live in Boston – we could have met up sometime! Lucky you are out of this awful winter weather though – another storm tomorrow…womp womp.

  2. authenticsuburbangourmet March 18, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

    What a great recipe and looks super tasty. Glad to be part of SRC group C with you!

  3. veronica gantley March 19, 2013 at 4:51 am #

    Goodness gracious!! This looks amazing! I will definitely want to try this winter for sure. It would make a great Lent recipe. I love grapes and spinach!

  4. Deanna Segrave-Daly (@tspbasil) March 19, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    I make a similar salad all year long but with apples instead – will try it with grapes next. Congrats on your move – that’s quite a change in weather going from Boston to Vegas (this East coast girl can appreciate the change :)

  5. cinnamonfreud March 19, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    I am so ready for spring and summer salads- this combo sounds great!

  6. Rhonda March 19, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    Wonderful, I just made a mandarin orange and spinach salad last night. I have 1/2 a bag left of spinach. I’m totally doing grape tonight.

Leave a Reply

