Secret Recipe Club October!

22 Oct

This month for the Secret Recipe Club I was assigned the blog Rhubarb and Honey. This blog is so beautifully done by it’s author, Kimberly.  The layout is inviting and the recipes are most definitely enticing!  As I looked through all of the recipes (literally) I finally came across the recipe for kale chips (original recipe: click here)!  Yay!  I haven’t made this in so long!!

Baked Chipotle Kale Chips

Serves 4

1 bunch kale (I used lacinato aka dinosaur kale)
2-3 Tbsp. vegan mayonnaise (I used Follow Your Heart Brand Vegenaise, original)
1/2 tsp. Herbamare spice blend
1/2 tsp. chipotle seasoning
Pinch sea salt

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  Wash and tear the kale into pieces about 2 inches by 2 inches.

In a small bowl combine the mayonnaise, spices, and salt.  Massage into the kale by the spoonful being careful not to saturate the leaves too much or else they won’t crisp up.

Spread the leaves in an even later onto a baking sheet lined with foil.  Bake in the preheated oven for 8-9 minutes.  Let sit about a minute before removing from the foil.  Enjoy!! (:

 
Secret Recipe Club



11 Responses to “Secret Recipe Club October!”

  1. Jamie @ Thrifty Veggie Mama October 22, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    I love kale chips! Never tried them with the vegenaise though.

    • veg-unite November 10, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

      I can’t help but put Vegenaise on everything hahaha!!! One of my new favorite spreads for sure (:

  2. Melissa October 22, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    These look really good! My attempts at kale chips have been unsucessful, but I think I’ll have to try again with this recipe!

  3. Kimberly October 22, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    Thanks so much for the kind words about my blog … you are so sweet!

    And it’s so funny you made the kale chips … I just remade them last week so I could photograph them for the blog! And I love your take on them … I will have to try them your way soon!

    Thanks again!

    • veg-unite November 10, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

      It was lots of fun looking through your amazing recipes!! I’ve definitely bookmarked a few more recipes that I just can’t wait to try (:

  4. misschelsmangia October 22, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    oooooo love that these are healthy!

  5. authenticsuburbangourmet October 22, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    These look so tasty! I made kale chips once and loved them. Will have to check out this recipe. Glad to be part of SRC group C with you!

  6. eliotthecat October 23, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    I have some kale growing right now that should be ready for these delectable chips any day now.

  7. Camilla @ Culinary Adventures October 23, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    I have some kale and collard greens in the fridge. I might just have to try this out! Thanks for sharing with the SRC.

    • veg-unite November 10, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

      Oohh! Collard green chips sounds very interesting!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Travel Treats | we heart vegan - July 21, 2013

    […] Chip alternatives: Raw Kale Chips or Baked Chipotle Kale Chips […]

Leave a Reply

