Secret Recipe Club September: Kidney Bean Dip!

17 Sep

20120917-114653.jpg

Happy fall time everyone!! My all-time favorite time of the year! Cool and sunny days, colorful leaves, football and the anticipation of the upcoming holidays! (:

And of course it’s also my favorite time of the month… Secret Recipe Club time!!! This month I’ve been assigned the blog Eliot’s Eats. this blog has some great stuff on there!! From jams to desserts, this was a hard choice to make! I finally came to the decision to make a bean dip that requires barely any prep time with literally no cooking time… my favorite kind of recipe (:

The original recipe is for Great Northern Bean Dip, but, being vegan, I wanted to utilize a bean that offers plenty of iron: the mighty red kidney bean.

Kidney Bean Party Dip

Serves 6

1 can red kidney beans, drained
1/4 cup salsa (I used Trader Joe’s habanero salsa)
1/2 tsp. sea salt

Directions:

In a food processor, combine all ingredients. Pulse until combined and somewhat smooth.

20120917-113713.jpg

20120917-113804.jpg

Scoop onto a serving dish and serve with vegetable sticks or tortilla chips. Enjoy!!

20120917-113850.jpg

I’m planning on making this dip again soon and topping it with diced avocado just to spruce it up even more (:



10 Responses to “Secret Recipe Club September: Kidney Bean Dip!”

  1. eliotthecat September 17, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    As I sneak a peek at the posts this month on my lunch period, I was so pleased to find out who had my blog. I can’t wait to try this dip with your variations! Thanks for the kind workds!

    • veg-unite September 17, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

      You have an amazing blog!! It was a challenge picking just one recipe (:

  2. Melissa September 17, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    What a great dip for football season! Great SRC pick! :)

    • veg-unite September 17, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

      That is exactly what I was thinking!!! And the best part is no one would ever know they were eating something healthy and vegan (:

  3. Toni September 17, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    So simple and yummy! Looks great!

  4. misschelsmangia September 17, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    I used to eat that frito bean dip right out of the can…this looks 10 times better!

  5. Erin @ Making Memories September 17, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    This looks amazing! Love that’s it’s somewhat healthy! I’d eat it all, I’m afraid. Dip and chips are my fav!

  6. Veronica September 17, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

    I love how simple this dip is. I’m a huge fan of both bean dip and salsa, so it’s very cool to see them combined. I’ll have to try it!

  7. Erin September 20, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    Love how simple this is and how short the ingredient list is. Who doesn’t love a dip recipe that comes together this quickly?! Great pick for SRC!

Leave a Reply

