Secret Recipe Club July: Pickled Zucchini!!

23 Jul

This month, for the Secret Recipe Club reveal, I was assigned Creative Kitchen Adventures.  The author and publisher is Denise, a self-taught cook who made this blog as an outlet for her passion.  That passion really does shine through!  All her recipes are easy to read and accompanied by great photos!  It was fun flipping through all the different recipes (:

I finally came across refrigerator pickles in the “salad dressings, dips, & condiments” section and became intrigued.  I haven’t had a pickle in a while, let alone made any completely from scratch!!  I looked into the refrigerator and saw no cucumbers… but there was some zucchini that needed to be used up.  Perfect!!

Refrigerator Pickled Zucchini, Onions, and Garlic

1 cup apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup vegan granulated sugar

2 medium zucchini, slivered

1/2 medium onion, chopped

5-7 garlic cloves

Water, as needed

Directions:

In a small saucepan over low heat, dissolve the sugar in the apple cider vinegar.

Meanwhile, pack the vegetables into a large glass mason jar (I used a leftover tomato sauce jar).  Pour the vinegar mixture over the vegetables and fill to the top, if necessary, with water.

Place in the refrigerator over night.  Enjoy!!!
Secret Recipe Club


8 Responses to “Secret Recipe Club July: Pickled Zucchini!!”

  1. Melissa July 23, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    I’ve never heard of pickled zucchini but it sounds like a great way to use zucchini. Great SRC pick!

  2. Denise @ Creative Kitchen July 23, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    I have been on a pickling kick all summer!! Lately I’ve done shredded carrots and cabbage too. And I tried sugar snaps….but the best are still the cucumber. Mmm…. Thanks for sharing on your blog! :)

  3. Cooking In Stilettos (@cookinstilettos) July 23, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    That looks really good!! So simple – I have no idea why I thought pickling was some majorly complicated thing.

  4. eliotthecat July 23, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    I have one lonely zucchini that is going to become a pickle soon! :)

  5. Tandy July 24, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    I am so intrigued by this that I am going to give it a try :)

  6. India-leigh @ aveganobsession July 24, 2012 at 4:08 am #

    You may have just given me the kick I needed to make pickles. I went on a course all about fermented foods months ago. I’ve made the kombucha, the kefir and the vegan cheese. I guess it’s time ot make the pickles! What did you eat yours with? x

  7. Mindy July 25, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    First of all, thanks for a fabulous recipe this month–I’ll be making your granola over and over again! And thanks for such a great vegan blog! Secondly, I’m totally making these pickles! I get a ton of zucchini from my CSA and am constantly looking for new ways to use it up. :-)

  8. Devon @ deli-cute-essen July 30, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    Yum! I love pickled veggies and I am getting a ton of zucchini in our CSA basket this year. Going on the to make list. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

