Split Pea Curry

30 Jun

The past couple days have been so eventful!! I’m in California HOLLAA!! I’m staying with the most inspiring woman ever, Wendy. She is my aunts friend since they were in middle school! I am so thankful to her for taking me in for a little bit. I have been helping her take care of her farm, which includes 4 dogs (5 including Betty), a giant African turtle, bunnies, chickens, doves, and pigeons. Plus a lot of land with lots of plants/trees and a garden. Orange trees, mandarin trees, pear trees, an avocado tree, guava tree, agave plant, etc etc!!!!! It’s eventful, time consuming, and tons of fun!

So I’ve been settling in, getting my bearings, and trying to figure out what I’m going to be doing. In addition to this I’ve been cooking!! Finally back in the kitchen! I’ve missed my therapy (:

Tonight I made myself and Wendy some split pea curry. I’m going to work through the food I brought on the road trip now that I have a stove haha! Sorry I didn’t measure anything…

Split Pea Skillet Curry

Serves 4

Split peas, rinsed

Water, vegetable broth, or vegan chicken broth; for cooking  split peas

3 yellow potatoes, cubed

3 carrot sticks, chopped

1 medium yellow onion, chopped

Spices, starting with the largest quantity and ending with the smallest:

Sea Salt

Curry powder

Garlic powder

Turmeric

Black pepper

Cardamom

Vegetable oil

Directions:

In a medium saucepan, cook the split peas under just tender.  Use a little more liquid than what is called for because this will be used as the sauce in the curry.

In a small mixing bowl combine the carrots and potatoes.  Add in the spices and stir to combine.  Set aside to marinade.

In a skillet, caramelize the chopped onion in a little vegetable oil.  Once cooked, set the onions aside, add a little more oil, and then add in the potatoes and carrots.

Saute until combined then add in the split peas plus a little liquid from the split peas.  The amount of liquid you add depends on the amount of sauce you prefer for your curry.  Allow this to simmer for a few minutes until all flavors are combined and the sauce is thickened.  Add the onions back into the pan and stir.

All done!!  Serve hot and enjoy!  And don’t forget about leftovers… this was a FANTASTIC leftover meal (:

Leave a Reply

