Protein Bars for my Foodie PenPal!!

24 May

Recently, I have joined a group called Foodie PenPals! This is such an amazing group! Once a month you are assigned a penal, then you buy and/or bake/make some goodies and gifts ($15)!! This month I was assigned Michelle from Denver, Colorado. Via email, we chatted about likes, dislikes, wants and needs. It’s so great that a stranger so many states away will try something that I have made!!

I love these bars I made, and I hope Michelle did as well! They are very low in sugar (used only brown rice syrup) and high in protein. Though I would have preferred not baking them, I thought they might keep better traveling if they were.

Vegan Trail Mix Protein Bars

Yields 8 to 12 bars

1 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup brown rice syrup (or any liquid sweetener)

1 cup oats

1/2 cup spelt flakes

3 Tbsp. hemp seeds

2 Tbsp. chia seeds

2 Tbsp. raw maca powder

1/3 cup Garden of Life raw, vegan protein, vanilla

1/3 cup raisins

1/3 cup cranberries

1/3 cup raw sunflower seeds

2/3 cup raw pumpkin seeds

+ a little salt if the peanut butter is unsalted

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine the peanut butter and brown rice syrup. Stir well to combine.

20120516-172153.jpg

In another bowl, stir together the remaining ingredients.

20120516-172140.jpg

Add the dry ingredients to the peanut butter mixture a little at a time, being sure to fully combine between each new addition of ingredients.

Press into a glass baking dish, any size you prefer, and bake for 30-40 minutes until lightly browned and firm to the touch. Let cool completely before removing from the baking dish. Enjoy!! (:

20120516-172447.jpg

20120516-172613.jpg

The Lean Green Bean
10 Responses to “Protein Bars for my Foodie PenPal!!”

  1. the bear and the blackberry May 30, 2012 at 2:27 am #

    That foodie pen pal deal sounds pretty fun!

    • veg-unite June 6, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      It really is!! Sadly I couldn’t participate this month because I am in transit, butI can’t wait to start again!!

  2. Danielle May 30, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    I just joined that group as well! I wish I would have been paired with you this month because those bars look incredible! I loved baking a special little treat for someone I’ve never even met (: Maybe we’ll get paired up soon!

    • veg-unite June 6, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

      Yeah it’s such a great concept!! I love that you get to send a stranger home baked goodies!! Hopefully we’ll get paired together soon (:

  3. fortheloveofkale May 31, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    girl, those bars look amazing!!!!

    • veg-unite June 6, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

      Ohhh Heather they tasted amazing!! I have YOU to thank because I saw the Foodie Penpal on your site and thankfully I signed up. Soooo much fun!! <3

  4. veganbloggersunite June 3, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    What a great post. Would love this for VBU. Please let me known if you’d like to be featured. Here’s how to submit your HTML.
    Thanks!
    Lidia

  5. Veggiewitch June 16, 2012 at 3:22 am #

    Super-glad I found your blog!
    *happy dancing*
    Veggiewitch *♥*

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Protein Bars for my Foodie PenPal!! – by weheartvegan.com - July 17, 2012

    […] Read More! share me!: Bookmark on Delicious Digg this post Recommend on Facebook share via Reddit Share with Stumblers Tweet about it Subscribe to the comments on this post /* […]

  2. Travel Treats | we heart vegan - July 21, 2013

    […] You could also make your own protein bars: Vegan Trail Mix Bars […]

Leave a Reply

