SRC May!! Hummus!!

21 May

For this month’s Secret Recipe Club post I was assigned to Rhonda’s site: The Kitchen Witch Blog. I just love everything about this site! The layout is fun and the name is adorable! Rhonda does such a great job.

When searching through her recipes I was hoping to find something simple, fun, and delicious (not hard to do). In the end I settled on her recipe for garam masala and preserved lemon hummus, though when I made it I changed up the flavors. I used some of the garden fresh basil I got in the mail from my Foodie Penpal to flavor this great pesto hummus!

Basil Pesto Hummus

Yields about 1 3/4 cup

1 2/3 cup garbanzo beans

1/2 tsp. pink Himalayan sea salt

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1/3 cup fresh basil leaves, packed

1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar

Directions:

In a food processor, combine the first 3 ingredients; pulse a few times to combine.  Add the basil and puree until combined.

While the food processor is on, drizzle in the olive oil then the apple cider vinegar. Puree until smooth.

Enjoy on crackers, pretzel thins, bread, veggies, etc etc!!!


Secret Recipe Club


27 Responses to “SRC May!! Hummus!!”

  1. Liz May 21, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    Fabulous hummus! This is a MUST try :) Great SRC pick~

    • veg-unite May 21, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

      It really is great! Like a mix between pesto and hummus!! I’ve been putting it on/with EVERYTHING (:

  2. ma whats for dinner May 21, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    I love hummus and this looks amazing. Great choice! So glad to be in the SRC club and to meet great foodie bloggers like you!

    Lots of yummy love,
    Alex aka Ma What’s For Dinner

    • veg-unite May 21, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

      Ditto!! Your post today looks great too! I had Aimee last month! Such a great site she has there (:

  3. Erin @ Making Memories May 21, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    I love hummus! This sounds amazing!

  4. Feast on the Cheap (@FeastontheCheap) May 21, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    Love The Kitchen Witch…She has so many tasty recipes I don’t know how you chose!

    • veg-unite May 21, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

      Seriously it was really hard to choose!! I’m so glad the SRC led me to her!! (:

  5. tkwblog May 21, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    Here’s the joke, I had your blog this month!!!! How funny is that! I had no idea, I just wanted to leave you a note that I was your Secret Pal and bam, I saw you had me. I’m so glad the hummus worked out for you, a pesto hummus sounds so good, I could put a pile on top of sliced tomatoes! Pop on over and see what I made from your site.

    • tkwblog May 21, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

      ha, I just checked my comments…you figured it out before me..sheepish grin…

  6. Aimee @ Chickenville May 21, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    Funny, because I wanted to make that same recipe from Rhonda’s blog. I am actually preserving lemons right now. I can’t wait until they are ready. I’m glad you made the changes though because we love hummus, and we love pesto. I don’t know why I never thought to combine the flavors. I’m going to whip some up as soon as my basil plant gets a little higher.

    • veg-unite May 21, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

      Yeah it’s a great combination! I bet adding a little lemon to this flavor would be good too… brighten it up a little! I’m thankful to my Foodie PenPal who sent me the lovely basil (: and Rhonda for her amazing recipes!

  7. Teri @ The Freshman Cook May 22, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    This looks wonderful. Hummus is one of my favorites, and the pesto really takes it up a notch!

    • veg-unite May 23, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

      Me too!! Thanks for checking it out (:

  8. cindy May 22, 2012 at 1:24 am #

    I do love hummus, fresh basil is my favorite smell–and taste. Great SRC pick.

    • veg-unite May 23, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

      I couldn’t agree moreee!!! Its the perfect herb!!

  9. Yasmeen @ Wandering Spice May 23, 2012 at 1:33 am #

    Being Middle Eastern it’s pretty predictable that we consume copious amounts of hummus in this house :) But pesto hummus? That is a first for me. Lovely choice for SRC!

    • veg-unite May 23, 2012 at 11:00 am #

      Well I hope you’ll give it a try!! (:

  10. Devon @ deli-cute-essen May 23, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    Pesto = good. Hummus = good. Pesto Hummus = amazing!

  11. Rachel @ The Avid Appetite May 23, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Love Rhonda’s blog and love this dish! I have a ton of fresh basil from my little garden…will need to make this soon!

    • veg-unite May 23, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

      Yes you do! And let me know how it goes!!!

  12. Emily Dingmann (@nutritionisteat) May 24, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    I love pesto hummus. I’ve never tried adding apple cider vinegar to hummus, I’ll have to try that!

  13. Erin May 24, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    Love the addition of the cider vinegar in this recipe! It never occurred to me to use vinegar in hummus! Can’t wait to give this a try – I can smell the fresh basil now. :) Great choice for SRC!

  14. veg-unite May 24, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    @Emily Dingmann and @Erin : I added it because I normally add some sort of citrusy flavor, like lemon, and I didn’t have any lemons! I thought the a.c. vinegar might give it the kick it needed (and it did)! (:

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hummus!!: We Heart Vegan | The Secret Recipe Club - May 30, 2012

    […] Check out the recipe for Hummus!! […]

Leave a Reply

