Guilt-Free Cookies

13 Nov

So I always get a hankering for sweets… it is bred into my soul.  I could live the rest of my life without salt, but I can not (will not) go a day without something sweet.  So when I came across these cookies in my effort to reduce my sugar intake, I couldn’t resist.  These have no added sugar, no oil, are vegan, wheat-free, gluten-free, and delicious.  Don’t believe me?  Make them yourself and you’ll see!!!

This recipe was based on Whole Foods Market’s recipe for Pumpkin Pecan Cookies.

Health Nut Cookies

Yields 48 cookies (but this all depends on the size cookie you make)

2 cups mixed nuts:  my mix = 3/4 cup pecans, 1 cup hazelnuts, and 1/4 cup pine nuts

1/2 cup old fashioned oats

1 cup buckwheat flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

3/4 cup sweet potato puree

3/4 cup pure orange juice

2 tsp. vanilla

1 cup raisins

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees fahrenheit.

In a food processor, process the nuts and oats until they become a fine meal.  Combine in a large mixing bowl with the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice.  Whisk together to combine.

Next, in the food processor, combine the orange juice, vanilla, sweet potato puree, and raisins.  Process until smooth.

Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add in the sweet potato mixture.  Fold gently with a wooden spoon until combined.  Use a scoop, spoon, or tablespoon to portion out the dough onto a parchment (or foil – but my foil lined baking dish definitely made the cookie bottoms burn a little) lined baking sheet.  Flatten gently and bake for 18-20 minutes.

Remove from the oven and transfer to cooling racks.  Enjoy as many cookies as you please today GUILT FREE.  Though one should never feel guilt when the cookie is vegan. (:

One of the batches I made I forgot to flatten the cookies… whoops!  They still came out delicious, but they were much more cakey on the inside.

Leave a Reply

