Creamy Sweet Potato Pie Porridge

7 Nov

I’ve decided that every recipe this fall will include sweet potato.  Ok, so it’s more like oops I’ve been using sweet potato in everything because I’m obsessed so I might as well blog it… (:

This Monday morning I woke early to THE SUN!  I love when that happens.  It was a bit chilly in my room so I craved something warm to heat me up!  Luckily, Julie-boolie texted me a lovely picture of her breakfast (carob oats with crumbled cookie) so oatmeal was on the brain.  I hope everyone likes this sweet root vegetable.

Creamy Sweet Potato Pie Porridge

Serves 2-3

1 1/2 cups dairy-free milk (I used 365 brand unsweetened original almond milk) + more for topping

3/4 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

1/4 cup golden raisins

1/2 cup sweet potato puree

Pinch sea salt

1 tsp. vanila

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1 Tbsp. raw coconut nectar (or any liquid sweetener of your choice like maple syrup or agave)

1 tsp. molasses

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

Heat milk to a boil in a medium saucepan; reduce heat to medium-low and add the oats and raisins.  Cook for about 5 minutes until some of the milk has been absorbed.  Add the sweet potato, salt, vanilla and spices; stir well while continuing to cook until the oats are softened and creamy and most of the milk is absorbed.

Finish with the sweetener of your choice, molasses, and the chopped walnuts.  Portion into 2 to 3 bowls and top each with a tablespoon or two of almond milk.  Enjoy slowly!

I had a portion for breakfast and I put a second portion into my thermos for lunch!!  It’s hard to resist eating it now because it is just so delicious!!

2 Responses to “Creamy Sweet Potato Pie Porridge”

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz November 8, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    yum, this looks so tasty. I love sweet potato!

    • veg-unite November 8, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

      Oh me too!! I love the texture it brings to dishes as well!

Leave a Reply

