My New Favorite Dessert!!!

18 Oct

I can’t believe this dessert is sugar free!!  And you won’t either!

I found these via chatting on Twitter with the wonderful Ricki Heller about special diets and restrictions.  I’ve recently embarked on a sugar-free (this means no fruit either), wheat- and gluten-free, mold-free, and yeast-free diet.  Many reasons led me to find this diet and I must say, minus some sugar cravings or trouble going out to eat, I feel great!  We’ll see…

Anyways, when searching for foods to eat I came across the blog Diet, Desserts and Dogs (by Ricki Heller).  This blog is great!  Solves many of my problems, including my dessert addiction.  When I asked her what dessert I could have that would best solve my cravings she sent me to her recipe for carob-coconut sweeties.  Within minutes of reading the recipe I was in the kitchen!  These are AMAZING!  Thank you Ricki!!

Almond Butter and Carob Cookies

Yields about 3 servings (about 6 cookies)

1 Tbsp raw almond butter

1 Tbsp tahini

2 tsp unsweetened carob powder

Pinch salt

2 tsp finely ground chia seeds (which is about 1-1.5 tsp. whole processed in a coffee grinder)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup  unsweetened, dried shredded coconut

Directions:

In a food processor combine the almond butter, tahini, carob and salt.  Process until smooth.  Add in the chia, vanilla, and coconut.  Pulse until combined.  Using a tablespoon, portion out the cookies.  Refrigerate or freeze to harden.  I couldn’t wait for that part.  I ate them soft.  They were very delicious! I think I want to try dehydrating them to get a crunchy exterior.  That’ll be for my next batch!!

I can’t wait to experiment more with these.  I’m going to try different extracts, rolling them in shredded coconut, adding nuts and/or seeds, adding protein powder… I could go on and on.  These are truly a health cookie!!

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “My New Favorite Dessert!!!”

  1. Ricki October 18, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    I’m so glad that you like them! Dehydrating would be brilliant. Please do let me know how that turns out if you give it a try! :)

  2. jessy October 20, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Oh my gosh yum!!! Occasionally I will take almond butter, raw honey, and carb powder and mix together to form little balls. This recipe sounds amazing! Will be trying soon.

Leave a Reply

