First Ever Vegan Omelet!

16 Oct

Upon our last visit to Veggie Galaxy in Cambridge, Julie and I got vegan omelets!  Julie got the Cambridge Street vegan omelet which is the tofu omelet stuffed with chipotle black beans, roasted red pepper puree, house made vegan cheese, sweet corn, shallot and apple salsa.  I got the Memorial Drive which is the tofu omelet stuffed with housemade seitan chorizo, baby arugula, house made vegan cheese, pickled jalapeno and leek.  Both were served with delicious homefries and toast with vegan butter!  Ah-mazing!

Well this left me inspired.  I must attempt a vegan omelet!  I’ve done the scramble, but that’s not difficult at all.  Omelets just always seemed out of reach.  Thank-you veganyumyum (again) for helping me fulfill my omelet dreams (:

Vegan Omelet

Serves 3

1 12-oz. package firm silken tofu, aseptic (I used Mori-Nu brand)

5 Tbsp. hazelnut milk, original (not unsweetened)

2 Tbsp. nutritional yeast

1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

3/4 tsp. salt

1 Tbsp. cashew nut butter

1/2 tsp. mustard powder

1 Tbsp. + 4 tsp. arrowroot powder

1/8 tsp. baking powder

Directions:

Press the tofu:  you can either do this with a tofu press (if your cool and own one) or you can do it like I did… wrap the tofu in paper towel and then a dish towel.  Place the wrapped tofu on a plate and place heavy objects on top.  I used a cast iron skillet.  After about 30 minutes the towels will be soaked through and the tofu will be pressed.

Place all ingredients in to a food processor and pulse until smooth.

Oil a nonstick skillet or a nonstick omelet pan.  Heat the pan over medium heat.

Spoon in about 1/3 cup batter and smooth out to cover the bottom of the pan.  Cook for 4-6 minutes until golden brown and flip.  Cook another 5 minutes or so until browned, crisp and cooked through.  Spread some cheese over the “omelet” and top with sautéed veggies!

I simply put my homemade wheat-free, gluten-free vegan cheese sauce in my omelet.  K.I.S.S. right?

Leave a Reply

