Cheese.

14 Oct

So here’s a little something about being vegan that bums me out.  Cheese.  Now, I can go without it, that doesn’t bother me the least.  But when I do decide to go all out and get some vegan pizza or melt some vegan cheese on something, it just isn’t the same.  I reminisce about the time where a snack might be cheese and crackers or a side dish of broccoli and cheese.  Quickly those thoughts are trumped with realities of tortured animals and diseased dairy products (yuck) and I’m back on track enjoying the pea protein Daiya.  Any-who, I solved my dilemma.  I made some cheese (vegan, gluten free, and wheat free) and have been using it on everything!!  I dipped my pretzels in it, I filled my omelet with it, I topped my tortilla chips with it, and I mixed my quinoa with it.  Oh the variety!  This cheese is quite versatile.

Found this on my car the other day… what a nice surprise!

Thank you VeganYumYum for the inspiration!!

Amazing Cheese Sauce

1/3 cup Earth Balance butter

1/3 cup buckwheat flour

1 Tbsp. miso

1 Tbsp. raw cashew nut butter

3 Tbsp. wheat-free tamari

2 tsp. apple cider vinegar

1 cup hazelnut milk, original (not unsweetened)

1/3 cup nutritional yeast

1/4 tsp. mustard powder

1/8 tsp. garlic powder

1/8 tsp. chipotle powder

Salt and fresh ground black pepper, to taste

Directions:

In a saucepan combine the butter and flour over medium heat to make a roux.

Once the butter and flour are completely combined, add the miso, cashew butter, tamari, vinegar and milk.  Stir with a whisk until smooth.  Add the remaining ingredients and continue stirring over medium heat until thick.

ENJOY ON EVERYTHING! (:

One Response to “Cheese.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. First Ever Vegan Omelet! « we heart vegan - October 16, 2011

    […] not difficult at all.  Omelets just always seemed out of reach.  Thank-you veganyumyum (again) for helping me fulfill my omelet dreams […]

Leave a Reply

