Happy Fall!!!

4 Oct

Yes.  New England fall… probably the best time of the year!  Cool, sunny days and chilly, snuggled up nights… apple picking and pumpkin carving… warm soup and hot cocoa… If you’ve never experienced all this, gimme a call.  You can spend a weekend here with me.  You’ll probably never leave!!

Well this past Friday Julie-boolie and I went apple picking at Honey Pot Hill Orchard in Stow, MA.  It was so much fun!!  It ended up being about 70 degrees and sunny and we picked apples like champs (cue reminiscing of tree climbing…).

After apple picking and thanking the lovely man who gave us the free trailer ride, we went into the store to look around.  All you can smell in here, and all over the orchard for that matter, ARE DONUTS!!  Everyone knows what donuts I’m talking about here… warm, aromatic apple cider donuts in paper bags constantly being shuttled out on trays because they don’t stay on the shelf long enough.  Well, these delectable donuts are not vegan.  SAD.  We browsed around some more and ended up getting some fresh apple cider and a butternut squash.  EXCITE.

Now the conversation went on and on between Julie and I (the whole 30 minute car ride home) all about donuts.  Contemplation of cheating on veganism for a donut.  NO!!!  So in the end it was decided.  This fall we’ll make some vegan donuts (and by fall we meant ASAP)!!!

Now, as usual, it’s hard to choose a recipe to base our recipes on… all the vegan bloggers out there are just so beyond amazing at what they do!!  So here’s a few recipes that I’m keeping on the back-burner for later:

The recipe I did finally choose comes from Vegan Good Things.  This is a blog that I discovered only recently thanks to this yahoo search for vegan baked donuts.  THANK YOU YAHOO!!!  I can’t believe I’ve never been here before.  Everything is so amazingly delicious looking!  Yay!

Apple Cider and Cinnamon Baked Donuts (vegan)

Makes 6-7 donuts

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 Tbsp. coconut flour

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4-1/2 tsp. sea salt

2 tsp. cinnamon

1 egg worth of egg replacer (follow package directions)

1/2 cup orchard fresh apple cider

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 tsp. apple cider vinegar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

4 Tbsp. Earth Balance vegan butter

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.

In a mixing bowl, whisk together the flours, baking powder, sea salt, and cinnamon.  In a small separate bowl, prepare your “egg.”

In a small saucepan over medium-low heat, combine the apple cider, sugar and Earth Balance.  Stir continuously just until everything has melted, combines and looks like caramel.  Remove from heat and add the apple cider vinegar, vanilla and egg and stir.

Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the dry; gently stir just until combined.

Spoon batter, by the tablespoon, into a donut pan.  I ended up using 3 tablespoons for each donut.  I bet I could have used less… but I liked the oversized sugar covered tires!

Bake in the oven for 12-14 minutes until light brown and cooked through.

Remove to a cooling rack before tossing with cinnamon and sugar.  So I say “toss” here… but that’s not exactly what I did.  I took each donut, put it on a dinner plate and lightly sprayed it with canola spray.  Then I sprinkled it with a premixed mixture of cinnamon and sugar, flipped the donut and repeated.  I tried putting them in a paper bag and tossing it, but the donut was too fragile!  Which ever way you deem fit will work!  Or glaze it with an apple cider cinnamon glaze… YUM!

So… 6 is not enough… in case you couldn’t have already guessed that.

I recommend making more.  Much, much more.  Especially if you have amazing friends like me who like to receive joy via donuts.  Not enough donut joy to go around!!!!

I’m so excited to play around with the apples we picked and the squash I bought!  I’m going to make some unsweetened cinnamon apple butter in the crock pot and then I’m going to bake my butternut squash and either just eat it or stuff it or mix it into some rice… endless possibilities!!  (:

4 Responses to “Happy Fall!!!”

  1. Chiquita Maria October 8, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    i love this post. lots of personality in it! showing your true colors to the world, huh britt! these donuts sound and look SO incredibly yummy, i’m going to have to try them (maybe someday when i can afford to buy the ingredients and the fancy donut pan). i’ve been craving donuts lately. it feels like fall out here in l.a., it’s kinda weird because i didn’t think it would…but surprisingly it does! miss you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Secret Recipe Club – Mozzarella Sticks | Annie's Noms - August 23, 2013

    […] was really eye opening! There was Cheesy Lasagna, Apple Cider and Cinnamon Donuts and Potato Patties. Lots of things I need to try! After reading through the blog, I finally […]

  2. Apple Cider Baked Donuts with Maple Glaze...Welcome Autumn! | - September 23, 2013

    […] Note:  Apple Cider Baked Donuts recipe adapted from We Heart Vegan. […]

  3. Oozing Mozzarella Sticks | Annie's Noms - May 25, 2014

    […] was really eye opening! There was Cheesy Lasagna, Apple Cider and Cinnamon Donuts and Potato Patties. Lots of things I need to try! After reading through the blog, I finally […]

Leave a Reply

