Vegan Spreadable Cheese (and Day 10)

31 Aug

Ryan and I are there!  We’re halfway there!  Well… Ryan’s halfway there.  After the 21-day cleanse I’m attempting a 5-7 day juice cleanse.  I’m looking forward to the juice cleanse because I’ve pretty much already gone through the detox at the beginning of this cleanse (detox symptoms = moodiness, sickness, muscle fatigue, and headache) and so I’m thinking the only feeling I’ll be experiencing is happiness.

Morning juice (8:30 a.m.) – red kale, celery, 2 cucumbers, 2 green apples and a pear

Breakfast (11 a.m.) – raw banana bread walnuts

Lunch (1:30 p.m.) – 2 slices zucchini millet bread spread with some herbed cheese and filled with spinach + a side of sliced green bell pepper

Dinner (5 p.m.) – plain jane salad with lettuce, onion, carrots and heirloom tomato then topped with the final remains of the curried cauliflower

Night time snack – 1/2 pint raspberries YUM

And now here’s my new favorite recipe (I feel like I’ve been saying that about all the raw recipes I’ve been making).  This nut cheese reminds me so much of alouette it’s uncanny!  I first made it for tomato stacks, but then I had it the other night on zucchini millet bread as a snack.  Now I am thinking the possibilities are endless:  veggie dip, cracker dip, sandwich spread, wrap filler, salad topper, ect ect!!

Vegan Raw Herbed Cheese

1 cup raw cashews, soaked

3 Tbsp. raw pepitas

1/3 cup water

Juice from 1/4 a lemon

3-4 large scallion stalks

1/2 tsp. dried rosemary

1/2 tsp. dried parsley

1/4 tsp. dried basil

1/4 tsp. dried dill

1/4 tsp. mustard powder

1/4 tsp. Herbamare spicy blend

Directions:

In a food processor combine all ingredients and pulse/blend until creamy.

 To serve:  line a serving mold with plastic wrap and pack in the herbed cheese.  Set in the refrigerator to harden.  Remove from the refrigerator and turn out onto a serving plate, remove plastic wrap.  Optional: sprinkle with ground up pepitas or fresh herbs.

Or:  roll cheese into a log then roll in ground nuts/seeds or spices; serve on a serving dish with a cheese knife.

Or you can do what I did and just spoon into a bowl.  You’ll probably dig in so fast you won’t even get to enjoy the looks!!  (:

Leave a Reply

