Day-2…

23 Aug

Tuesday, day-2, here’s a review (wow… what a rhyme that is haha).

Woke up around 8 a.m. to Ryan making us juice <3

The juice was the same as yesterday, but with an added 1/2 lemon.  The lemon made the juice very citrusy; I liked it, but I like the non-citrus version better.

A couple hours later my stomach began to rumble.  I had a spoonful of raw pecan butter to shut it up.  And that worked.

Around noon I had a juicy orange for a lovely snack.

Lunch occurred around 1 p.m.  This included a serving of the deconstructed Greek salad with 1 Tbsp. nutritional yeast and 1/2 cup cooked millet mixed with Herbamare spicy blend!!  I mixed the hot cooked millet with the cold salad and the result was wonderfully warm!!

Since I have the day off from work today I decided to use the time wisely and make a dinner dish for today and tomorrow!!  Also, since I have the time, I made a dessert!!  I’ll post our dessert recipe sometime this week (raw apple crisp).

Ryan and I ate dinner around 6 p.m. after our run!  I prepared it a little earlier so it could marinate in the fridge until we were ready.  I don’t even know if you guys are ready for this recipe… it’s out of this world delicious!  Ryan said it tasted just like Doritos, but in a good way!!  The recipe was based upon a lovely “cheese” recipe from colourfulpalate.com

Raw Not-Yo-Cheeze

Yields 1 cup

1 spicy pepper, like jalapeno, habanero or thai chili

1/4 cup water plus more to thin (I ended up using a 1/2 cup total)

1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds

1/4 cup raw pepitas

3 tsp. tahini

2 Tbsp. nutritional yeast

1 tsp. pink sea salt

1 tsp. onion powder

1 large garlic clove

1/2 lemon, juiced (about 1-2 Tbsp.)

1/4 tsp. cumin

1/4 tsp. dried chipotle

Fresh ground black pepper to taste

Directions:

Put all ingredients in the food processor, or a strong blender like the Vita-mix, and pulse until creamy and combined.  Add more water for the desired consistency.

So for dinner I made a raw taco “meat:”

1 summer squash, 1 zucchini, 1 onion, all diced, mixed with 3 Tbsp. taco seasoning and the juice of 1 lime.  This then marinaded for a couple hours in the refrigerator.

The tacos as a whole were not 100% raw, but they were an extreme high raw (like 99%).

ALSO for dinner I made a raw rice to go inside the taco shells.  This simply consisted of 1 1/2 cups cauliflower florets that were put in the food processor and pulsed a few times until ground up to the size of rice.

So here’s what to do…

Take the organic corn taco shells (hard shells) and spread in a teaspoon or two of the not-yo-cheeze, spoon in some “rice,” raw taco “meat” and top with either some diced heirloom tomatoes or avocado.  Some other optional toppings include cilantro, mango, cashew sour cream, corn and black beans (for a cooked variation), or keep it as is.

I can’t wait to make this cheeze sauce again and again!!!!!  And I know Ryan feels the same way (:

One Response to “Day-2…”

  1. julie August 24, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!

Leave a Reply

