Monday Monday

22 Aug

Happy Monday!  Yay?

Today Ryan and I start our 21-day raw cleanse.  We did a big shop yesterday (and by big I seriously mean huge… sorry bank account) then we prepared a meal!!  We made a deconstructed Greek salad with a slight simple variation.  The salad was merely cucumber, tomato, onion, basil and green pepper mixed with a hemp oil dressing and crumbled tofu.  So simple and so perfect for work days!  Today’s a big day for me (new Whole Foods opening!!!!!!!) and for Ryan every day landscaping is strenuous!  Great, healthy and fulfilling meals are necessary.

This cleanse is definitely needed.  Both Ryan and I feel like we may not have been being as healthy lately as we could have been, or usually are.  I say “I’m squishy” and he says “I’m tired.”  Not fun.

As some may know, I’m a planner.  I have been making lists and schedules since I was born.  I make a list, lose it, make another, repeat.  The lists make me feel like I am prepared, though most of the time I’m not… and I love pen (or pencil) and paper!!!  For this 21-day cleanse (from Crazy Sexy Diet) I have made these lists, though this time on Microsoft Word, and it really makes things exciting.  I have some shopping lists, meal plans, menu ideas and recipes all ready for me to look at when I’m feeling uninspired.

This morning I woke up to some fresh juice made by Ryan:

1 bunch kale

1 cucumber

2 apples

1 pear

4 celery stalks

Very delicious!  The cucumber makes the juice light and refreshing!

Here’s an overview of the rest of my day:

Morning snack:  1 orange

Lunch:  Deconstructed Greek salad over mache and mesclun greens

PM snack:  2 large celery stalks with 2 Tbsp. raw pecan butter and sprinkled with cinnamon

Dinner:  2 carrot sticks, chopped, dipped in 2 Tbsp. hummus

Then Ryan and I split this yummy creation:

Raw Avocado and Mango Salad

Serves 2

1 avocado

1 valencia tomato

1/2 mango

Dash pink sea salt

Dash black pepper

Directions:

Slice all very thin and layer on a plate.  Sprinkle with sea salt and black pepper.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

