Juice Cleanse (Day 2)

19 Jul

HELLO EVERYONE!  I have taken a little 5 day blogcation and I feel rejuvenated!!  It’s definitely a job on its own blogging and cooking!!  A job I love that is!

So while I’ve been away I’ve made some great recipes (to come soon) and also started a juice cleanse.  Today is day 2 and I’m feeling pretty good!

Day 1 was rough.  I hadn’t picked up the juicer yet, so I was running on empty (literally).  Luckily I made a smoothie with the Vita-Mix at work to save the day.  I used 3 small beets, 1 cucumber, 5 dinosaur kale leaves, 1 mango and the juice of 1 small lime (and some water).  After blending I strained the smoothie through cheese cloth!!  The result was an amazingly velvet smooth juice!!  The only problem… it was 3 p.m. and I hadn’t eaten anything all day.  My blood sugar spiked FAST and I felt almost worse than before.  I drank water and tried to relax.  After a half hour I felt much, much better.

Later in the night I had the juicer!!  Around 9:30 p.m. I made a quick sweet juice with 1/2 cup pitted cherries, 3 celery stalks and about 1 cup of red grapes.  This made a lot of juice!!  Definitely a good 2 servings.  This drink really helped me sleep like a baby!!  I went to bed around 11 and slept a good 9 hours.  Felt amazing!

So day 2… woke up and felt great.  I couldn’t believe I wasn’t tearing through the cabinets looking for breakfast food!  I had 2 glasses of lemon water with a smidgen of cayenne to start and then I made a juice.

Extreme Juiced Energy

Serves 1-3

4 organic carrots

1 organic mango, skin removed

1 organic pink lady apple

1 organic kiwi, skin on

1 small organic beet

1 bunch watercress

1 organic valencia orange

Directions:

Juice all according to your juicers instructions.  Drink and enjoy slowly!

Now I’m off to make a green drink to get me through visiting a vegan bakery (Wildflour) in Pawtucket… HELP!!

Leave a Reply

