Chocolate Lovers Grain-Free Brownies!! <3

2 Jul

A couple weeks ago I was trend surfing through twitter when I came across spunky coconut!  She’s not 100% vegan, but as I flipped page by page through her blog (thespunkycoconut.com), I came across an awesome recipe for vegan, grain-free brownies.  Not only did the picture look amazing, but the recipe was so damn simple!!  Needless to say the website sat open on the lap top for a couple weeks; every time I opened safari I would drool.  Well, it’s about damn time I drool and then devour these brownies!!!

About a year and a half ago I started getting bad stomach aches that would literally prevent me from walking out my door.  I went to the doctor and they recommended laying off gluten and wheat for a while to see what happens.  Three months later I felt better than ever!!  No stomach aches!!!  But when it seemed too good (and too easy) to be true, it was.  After about 3 and a half months, the stomach aches returned.  That’s when I made the decision to cut out dairy, meat and all animal products (hello veganism).  Now, over a year later, I am stomach ache free and full of energy!  The weird thing is, I still notice when I have too much wheat, gluten (or sugar), I get a terrible stomach ache!  So I try to be a bit more aware about my wheat/gluten intake.  Thank goodness I love brown rice!!!

I made a couple changes to the original recipe from The Spunky Coconut because of my own personal preference and lack of some ingredients.  I love the way they came out!!  They smell amazing, and have an awesome fudgey texture.

Chocolate Lovers Grain-Free Brownies

Yield 16 brownies (but they’re so good it probably doesn’t yield 16 serving (; )

1/2 cup applesauce, unsweetened cinnamon flavor

2 Tbsp. water

1/4 tsp. guar gum

1/2 cup almond butter (or any nut/seed butter you have on hand)

1/2 cup black bean puree (which is a heaping 1/2 cup of regular black beans pulsed in a food processor)

1/4 tsp. sea salt

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 tsp. instant espresso coffee powder

1/4 cup coconut sugar

1/4 cup + 3 Tbsp. cocoa powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 cup chocolate chips

1/4 cup raisins (optional)

Directions:

With an electric stand alone mixer, or handheld, beat the applesauce, water and guar gum until lightened in color.

Add the nut butter and black bean puree and beat until completely combined, being sure to scrape down the bowl.  Add the salt, espresso, sugar, cocoa, baking soda and baking powder and beat just until incorporated.

Fold in the chocolate chips and raisins, if using.

Spread the batter into a square 9X9 baking pan that has been oiled and bake for 25 minutes (or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean) in a preheated 350 degree oven.

Let sit at least 10 minutes before cutting and removing from the pan.

I cut the brownies into squares and put them into the refrigerator.  They became so wonderfully fudgy… mmm!!!

And here’s some pictures of Harmony’s AMAZING pups (and Betty <3)!!!

2 Responses to “Chocolate Lovers Grain-Free Brownies!! <3”

  1. frugalveganmom July 5, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    Mmmm looks great, just added it to my recipes “favorites” folder!

Leave a Reply

