Hey Margarita!

22 Jun

I love this summer weather!!!  I can sit outside with my bathing suit on and soak that vitamin D in!!  I feel a million times happier everyday and when the days are so hot and steamy, any little chilled food makes me elated!!

Anyways, I had been cleaning the apartment ALL morning yesterday, so around 4p.m. I was in the mood for something refreshing and cool.  I love margaritas.  My friend Laura and I used to go to a place called Sharky’s at least 5 times a week when we lived in Oak Bluffs on Martha’s Vineyard.  It was a great little Mexican hole in the wall that served up the best nachos, burritos and flavored rita’s!!!  I think that’s where I got hooked.

I’m embarrassed to say though, I have never made one homemade.  But now that I have, and I know that I can, I’m thinking these are going to turn in to a weekly thing.

Frozen Margaritas

Serves 4

1 cup fresh squeezed lime juice

Lime zest from 1 lime

1/2 cup fresh pink lemonade

1 cup tequila (more or less depending on how strong you want it)

2 Tbsp. triple sec

Tons of ice

Directions:

Put all the ingredients in a blender and blend.

Pour into four glasses, either rimmed or not rimed with salt, garnish with a lime wedge and enjoy!!

Our next batch had a flavored twist:  first the ingredients were blended, without ice, with a fresh chopped champagne mango.  Once pureed, the ice was added and the drink was fully blended.  YUM!

 

2 Responses to “Hey Margarita!”

  1. Chelsea June 23, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    YUM! I’m a huge margarita fan as well. I used to use a recipe by Tyler Florence that has beer in it which sounds gross but actually is amazing. Thanks for the post, I’ll have to try it out!!

    • veg-unite June 23, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      Ah yes! Warm weather and margaritas are ahhhhmazing! I love the summer! <3

Leave a Reply

