Raw Key Lime Pie!!

16 Jun

Remember my idea for raw Wednesdays?  I didn’t follow through with that, did I…

But here’s a great raw recipe to make up for it!!  This recipe is super simple and super delicious.

I have actually been craving key lime pie since we went to Cafe Gratitude in Berkeley.  Oh man… The desserts at Cafe Gratitude are very amazing!  We went to Cafe Gratitude three times, the first time we did not get dessert (we went to Cinnaholic instead), the second time in San Rafael Julie and I split the strawberry shortcake, and the third time we went specifically for dessert… I got the key lime pie and Julie got an ice cream sundae.  AHH!  I miss you California!

For this pie I looked at a few recipes, but none of them seemed to be how I wanted it.  So I remembered the flavors I tasted in Cafe Gratitude’s pie to choose all the ingredients.  I knew I needed a lot of key limes, some avocados and a good creamy, raw base.

Raw Key Lime Pie

Serves 6-8

22 key limes, juiced (5 oz. or 10 Tbsp. of juice)

1 cup raw cashews

1-1 1/3 cup water

1 Tbsp. virgin coconut oil

1 Tbsp. raw coconut syrup

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

3 medium avocados

Directions:

In a Vita-mix, or a strong blender, combine all ingredients and blend until smooth.  Set aside in the fridge while you prepare the pie crust.

Raw Pie Crust

Yields enough for one 9-inch pie pan

1 cup raw almonds

2-3 dried figs

1/4 cup virgin coconut oil

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded dried coconut flakes

1/4 cup raw coconut syrup

3/4 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

In a food processor, pulse the almonds.  Add the figs and pulse some more to combine.

Add the almond mixture to a mixing bowl and combine with the rest of the ingredients.  Stir well to incorporate.

Press into the bottom of a 9-inch glass pie dish.

Pour the key lime mixture into the pie dish, covering the almond crust evenly.  Cover with plastic wrap or foil and put in to the refrigerator for at least 3 hours.

I could not resist… I had to cut a piece of pie right away!!  The taste, tart filling and sweet crust, was still amazing, but the pie was soft.  It was more like a key lime pudding.  But oh my goodness… it still hit the spot!

Leave a Reply

