Cacao-Maca Smoothie

14 Jun

I never thought I would blog.  Over a year ago I never even looked at a blog.  The internet was for Facebook, email, and AIM… none of this checking everyday to see what Leanne is up to or to see what Kristin is blending/juicing, I didn’t log on to the computer to click on my top sites to check on OhSheGlows, HEAB, or Averie, and I sure didn’t comment on blog posts hoping to get a response.  Life back then was more simple.  Now my day starts and ends with Twitter, I cook with a camera pasted to my hand, and I make everyone wait to eat so I can photograph every angle.  I’m not complaining.  I love this “job” I have to blog recipes and inform people on veganism.  It’s an amazing gift.  It just gets hard sometimes.

Today is another gloomy day outside, which could be why I’m here pondering the past.  It’s impossible to get motivated.  I had a bit of a sour stomach from the moment I awoke and I haven’t really been able to eat anything.  That being said, I think a creamy chocolate shake will go down with ease!

Cacao-Maca Cashew Shake

Serves 2

1/3 cup raw cashews

2/3 cup water

2 Tbsp. cacao nibs

1 Tbsp. raw maca powder

2 Tbsp. coconut flakes, unsweetened

1-2 small frozen bananas

1/2 tsp. almond or vanilla extract (optional)

Small pinch sea salt

Directions:

In a Vita-mix, or strong blender, puree the cashews with the water.  Add the rest of the ingredients and blend until smooth.  Add more water if you want a thinner consistency.  This shake came out to be more like a pudding… which is fine by me!

And here’s some more pondering:  For the past week I’ve been having a great debate with myself.  I love the idea of going raw, but it’s pretty darn hard for me.  I can do a day with no problem, but then the next day comes and I’m tempted by everything at work, expenses and food still in my cabinets!  The benefits of raw are tremendous, but why isn’t that enough?!

I need to find this middle ground where I can be completely satisfied with the way I treat my body.

What do you do to find middle ground in life?  Exercise?  Eating healthy?  Meditating?

2 Responses to “Cacao-Maca Smoothie”

  1. Chelsea June 14, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Love this smoothie and as you know from my blog I’m a bit smoothie-obsessed. :) Your blog is great. Hang in there, there are always days when I feel the same but it’s a marathon, not a sprint. I went to TECHmunch this weekend because I too was needed a bit of mojo, and I found it. If you ever want to meet for coffee, let me know. Us food bloggers need to stick together. (HUG).

    • veg-unite June 14, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

      Thanks girl! I would love coffee! Julie and I are planning a trip to NYC in the near future… we’ll have to meet up for some delicious grub and coffee!

Leave a Reply

