Summer rolls!

7 Jun

Today was a scorcher!  When it’s this hot (90 degrees mid-day), there is nothing you want less than having to turn on that oven!  Not only do I not want to turn on the oven, I don’t want to turn on the stove, the toaster or the hot water!!  Summer rolls with a peanut dipping sauce really hit the spot and kept me cool!

Last year in my Food and Culture class we made these yummy summer rolls.  And every time I go out to eat I’ll start with summer rolls.  They are so fresh and clean and definitely help to fill me up.

This recipe came from my brain and Whole Foods Market (for the dipping sauce).

Clean and Cool Vegan Summer Rolls

Serves 2-4

9-inch rice paper rounds

1 avocado, sliced

1 container broccoli slaw mix

1 bag mung bean sprouts

1 1/3 cup dino kale (about 6 leaves), de-ribbed and chopped into small pieces

3/4 cup diced crisp iceberg or romaine lettuce

2 1/2-3 Tbsp. chopped fresh mint leaves

Marinated or plain tofu, extra firm (optional)

Peanut dipping sauce:

Heaping 1/2 tsp. diced fresh ginger

2 1/2 Tbsp. nama shoyu

1 tsp. toasted sesame oil

3 Tbsp. water

5 Tbsp. PB2 (powdered peanut butter)

2 tsp. dijon mustard

1 tsp. seasoned rice vinegar

2 tsp. brown rice syrup

1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp. siracha chili sauce

1 Tbsp. chopped peanuts for garnish (optional)

Directions:

Make the peanut dipping sauce by combining all ingredients in a small bowl and setting aside.

Fill a bowl big enough to fit the rice papers with water.  I used a glass pie dish!  Let sit for about 5 minutes to soften.

In a medium bowl combine the kale, lettuce and mint.

Make sure all your ingredients are handy because you’ll want to work fast with the rice papers.

Make the summer rolls as if you were making a burrito layering all the ingredients as you prefer.

I wish I could give better instructions, but it would be somewhat tedious.  Plus I’m not that good at it!!  YET!

And here’s some more San Francisco reminiscing!!!

Ani Phyo!!!  She did a food demo at the Ferry Building!!  Yummmm I’m going to make the recipe soon!

To stick with the live food theme of this day (after seeing Ani), Julie and I grabbed some raw wraps from the Alive stand at the farmers market!  The romaine lettuce wrap had avocado, sprouted lentils and some sunflower seed pate, among other ingredients, in it and though it was messy it made us feel light and energized for the rest of the afternoon!

Ciao Bella inside the Ferry Building!!!  Blackberry cabernet sorbet!  So delicious!

Cha-Ya Vegan Japanese!!  Sue and I split taku-sui (pictured above) and vege-tofu curry (pictured below).  This place is really awesome.  We meant to go back, but there were too many other amazing places!  Next time I’m in SF I’ll be sure to go and then I’m getting a vegan ice-cream sundae!!  This is topped off with green tea sauce, azuki bean sauce and pineapple chunks!!  MMM!!

Movie night in Duboce Park!  The movie was The Rock.  What a classic.  Too bad it was like below freezing and Julie and I were not only bundled in sweatshirts, but we had about 3 blankets on us!  Still fun though!

Made breakfast (recipe to come):  Lemon Almond Butter Wheat Berries

Look at these love-bugs!  Cora and Bella!

Hike through Glen Canyon Park.  This is an amazing park!  The dogs had a blast!  And we did too!!

And that’s enough for this post!!  I know I’m going to blabber on about the amazing Gracias Madre so I better save it for a post with more room!

2 Responses to “Summer rolls!”

  1. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel June 8, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    its so pretty seeing the yummy veggies transparent through the rice paper! wow Ani Phyo!!??!! LUCKY LUCKY LUCKY! she’s amazing huh! im so impressed that the burrito is all lettuce yet looks so hearty too- thats genius :)

    xoxo <3

    • veg-unite June 12, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

      Ah I know… there is nothing like a hearty lettuce wrap! So healthy and fresh! And yes, Ani Phyo is a goddess and I would love to un-cook with her sometime! Maybe someday…
      Thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

