I scream, you scream…

3 Jun

We all scream FOR ICE CREAM! (:

I’m still a little groggy from the California-Massachusetts time change, so this morning I could not get going.  Around noon time I felt like myself, I made lunch (recipe to come: Indian inspired risotto), walked Betty with Ryan and then made dessert.

I am always most productive when I have limited time (like today before work).  I don’t know if it’s my procrastinating skills or the stubbornness in me… I just don’t want my time interrupted!!!

Of course I would have been satisfied with the chocolate I have in the cabinet, but since I was blog surfing on JLgoesVegan then to vegansaurus… I was ice cream inspired!  Also, I have raw cashews on hand and I’ve been trying to find new and interesting ways to use them up!  Ice cream seemed like a great use for them!  Ryan agrees… this ice cream tastes like black raspberry!!

Raw Black Raspberry Vegan Nice Cream

Serves 2 generously

1 cup raw cashews

1 cup water

1/2 inch fresh ginger

2 small frozen bananas (about 1 cup chopped)

1 cup Trader Joe’s Very Cherry Berry Blend

1 tsp. vanilla

Directions:

In a Vita-mix, blend the cashews with the water until completely blended.  At this time the cashew water can either be strained or kept the way it is.

Add the rest of the ingredients and blend until smooth.

Serve immediately!!  Enjoy slowly.

The ice cream is very soft, but amazing.  I can’t wait to play around with this recipe some more.  I’m going to see what happens when the mixture is placed in the freezer for a couple hours and I want to see what it would be like using my Kitchen-aid ice cream bowl!  Yay!!

Now enjoy some more pictures from San Francisco!!!!

Radish:  tofu sandwich… OutOfThisWorld!!!!!! (She gave us the approximate marinade recipe, so a recipe will be coming along shortly!)

Vegan ice cream from Bi-Rite Creamery!  And a blurry shot of Bella <3

Pho from Sunflower

Hanging with Cora at Dolores Park!

Match Latte from The Summit (one of many)

AHHHHHHHHH!!!  One of the highlights:  BLT (I Am Extraordinary) from Cafe Gratitude.  On the whole wheat bun was sauteed maple coconut bacon, romaine lettuce, sliced tomato, avocado, and spicy chipotle aioli.  Alongside the sandwich there was a mixed mesclun greens salad perfectly dressed.  I would get this everyday for the rest of my life if I could.

Another highlight:  Cinnaholic in Berkeley!  This one’s called Gone Bananas and it is a vegan cinnamon roll covered in vanilla frosting, banana chunks, chocolate chips, walnuts and a chocolate drizzle.  Yeesh… how am I back in Massachusetts and not crying?  I think it might be because THEY DO MAIL ORDER!!!

Me and Julie waiting for our ride home from the De Young.

Enough reminiscing for now… but stay tuned for more (:

7 Responses to “I scream, you scream…”

  1. JL goes Vegan June 4, 2011 at 5:56 am #

    Love your ice cream creation! (ginger….GREAT idea!)

  2. Julie June 4, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    Ice cream looks phenom!!

    • veg-unite June 4, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

      do-do-do-do-do do-do-do-do phenom-a-nom?

  3. Shannon June 6, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    Thank you for mentioning Cinnaholic!

    • veg-unite June 6, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      Well of course I did!! It was one of the highlights for sure!!!

  4. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel June 8, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    that looks like healthy vegan crack! perfect on a hot day…geez i wish i had some now, but i need to freeze up some fruit and try this- nom nom nom :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Trial and error [this is gonna be fun] « Move. Eat. Breathe. - March 28, 2012

    […] Raw Black Raspberry Ice Cream […]

Leave a Reply

