Coconut Maca Energy Balls

20 Apr

Recently I’ve been hearing a lot about a superfood called Maca and can you believe it… it’s on sale!  I love when that happens.

Maca is great for energy levels, stamina, and, as a customer at Whole Foods made sure I remembered, “it makes ya horny.”  Oh how people never cease to amaze me!

Well let me just say, I bought it for the energy Mr. Customer, not for what it seems you buy it for haha!!!

I thought it would be a great idea to take what I loved about the Chocolate Chip and Almond Butter Balls that I made before and what I am needing recently… protein and energy!  I came up with these fiber-full, protein-packed, melt-in-your-mouth energy balls that everyone loves.

Coconut Maca Energy Balls

Makes 26 balls, depending on the size of your scoop

10 Tbsp. coconut flour

10 tsp. Maca powder

3 Tbsp. cacao nibs, processed in the food processor until finely ground

2/3 cup dried coconut flakes, unsweetened

3 Tbsp. chia seeds, briefly processed in the food processor

2/3 cup old fashioned oats

1 1/3 cup chunky almond butter

1/3 cup raw agave nectar

Directions:

Combine all the dry ingredients together (everything but the almond butter and agave nectar).  Whisk to combine completely.  In a small separate bowl, combine the almond butter and agave nectar and mix to combine completely.  Add the wet to the dry and mix.  This takes a few minutes, but make sure every morsel is coated with the almond butter and agave.

Use a scoop, or a spoon, to portion out the balls.  I love my cookie scoop that has an automatic unloader so I don’t have to get my fingers sticky and it measures out the perfect size every time!  With the scoop (which I believe is a 2 Tbsp. scoop) this batter produces 26 energy balls.  I put the ingredients into my Iphone app ‘Lose It’ and got an approximate calorie count of 143!  Not too bad for an extremely satisfying snack!  With the chia, 3 g. of fiber and 4 g. of protein, these balls fill you up and have a long lasting effect!!

Eat on the go to ward of hunger or after an intense workout to amp up recovery, either way… ENJOY!

4 Responses to “Coconut Maca Energy Balls”

  1. Minna April 21, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    These sound super yummy and easy to make! Cacao nibs are so hard – have you ever had a problem using them in the food processor? Could you sub raw cacao powder, or do you think the nibs contribute to the texture?

    • veg-unite April 21, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

      They are super hard, but the food processor can handle them. I personally like them for the texture, but the powder would work fine for adding flavor and superfood qualities!! I swear a teaspoon of cacao is stronger than 2 cups of coffee!!

  2. Jerry Collins June 10, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    Have you tried adding virgin coconut oil to the mix? The coconut oil would provide long term energy for sports events and also provide many health benefits. How would you adjust the recipe if you were going to add some oil?

    • veg-unite June 11, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

      Virgin coconut oil is a great idea! At first I tried to keep out “added oils,” but adding some virgin coconut oil might make them a bit more moist and more raw-cookie-dough like! I’m definitely going to give this a try! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

