Portland Trip, part deux!

24 Mar

I love Portland!  I guess I should say: I love city life with a small town feel!  I think that’s also why I love San Francisco!!  You have the benefits of a city, like tons of stores and restaurants, but you don’t have all the hustling and bustling of a large city like New York City!

Sunday morning was really funny.  We couldn’t stay in Portland too long because I had to work, but we assumed before noon there should be some great breakfast or brunch places open.  Fail.  We wanted Thai (yes we like to eat Thai for breakfast…) but we couldn’t find one open.  We wanted coffee, but like 10 places we walked by were closed!  Then we went in to Little Lads vegan bakery, but the guy running the store looked like he just got out of bed and all there was was herbal corn (which of course I bought some) and herbal tea.  Hmm…

Finally we found a coffee shop open and Ryan got his OJ and we split an everything bagel with peanut butter (this was the pre-breakfast breakfast (: ).  Then, as we wandered through the quiet streets, we found a coop called Local Sprouts.  Inside there we discovered it was an adorable cafe with Bomb Diggity Bakery, live music and a menu serving breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner.

YES!

The menu was great and the feel of the cafe was comfortable!  I felt like I was walking in to a small town farm kitchen with a ton of friends.  Cheeeesy!  Seriously though, I need to go back!  I had vegan buckwheat pancakes with Earth Balance Butter and maple syrup with a side of home-fries and hot sauce.  The only not great thing was it took a very long-time to get our food, but it was extremely busy!

Then we bought Julie a homemade vegan granola bar from Bomb Diggity Bakery!!

Now while we may have had our minds set on Thai (or Green Elephant), we were very satisfied with this cafe we accidentally stumbled upon!!  Especially since my sister and Jarod gave me a gift certificate to a Asian-Thai food restaurant called The Rice Barn.  Can’t wait to go there again!

4 Responses to “Portland Trip, part deux!”

  1. Anthony March 24, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Oh the pancakes look really good!
    Instead of eating out, why not try to make vegan food at home? Check the recipe site below, it’s pretty cool!
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes
    Hope you find recipes that you like!

  2. Marie March 25, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    SO wonderful having you guys up in our neck of the woods. i think you’re both destined for portland (or californian) living ;) the pictures are awesome, and i’m bummed i didn’t see your texts about local sprouts till later! i still have been dying to try it. i’m gonna come down and visit you soon. we can eat/giggle/and sink into quicksand ALL OVER AGAIN :D

    • veg-unite March 27, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

      Californian living YES! I watched a special on PBS about San Francisco and I must say… I re-caught the SF bug!!!!! So much history in San Franny!

      We should plan to cook something…

  3. Aleksandar Manov June 21, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Your blog is very well written. Thank you for the info and i will put you in my favourites to check regularry your blog. I own a blog for herbal products and if you are intereted look at it. Thank you for the time you spent on my comment. Regards http://herbal-stores.info/

Leave a Reply

