Raw Almond Milk!!

23 Feb

Have you ever heard of “Meatless Monday’s?”  Well, I want to start a “Wednesday in the Raw.”  I want to transition to a 80/20 diet (80 % raw vegan/20% vegan) but for now… one day a week is all I can handle especially with my lack of income and lack of free time. ):

So, last night I made some raw almond milk for the first time!!  I used the milk in my morning smoothie (raw almond milk, blueberries, spinach, papaya, and some hemp seed), then I had an apple and a salad for lunch, and a large spinach salad with nuts and seeds for dinner.  So I’m still a little new with this whole raw thing.  I know, I know, it’s not all salads… but Wednesday is a busy day for me!!

So here’s the milk recipe.  I adopted it from Choosing Raw and my new raw book I bought at Barnes and Noble: Raw Food: A Complete Guide for Every Meal of the Day.

Date Sweetened and Spiced Vanilla Almond Milk

Yields 6 cups

2 cups raw almonds, soaked overnight

6 cups water

10 dried dates, soaked overnight

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

Drain the almonds and dates of their soaking liquids and put into the Vita-mix, or any high powered blender.

Add the 4 cups water, cinnamon and vanilla and blend until well combined.

Pour into a nut milk bag, or a fine meshed strainer, and squeeze the liquid from the almond pulp.

Return the strained almond milk back to the Vita-mix and add the remaining 2 cups of water.  Blend to combine.

Enjoy!!

(My breakfast smoothie (: )

Don’t like almonds?! Well first… you’re crazy… but still, if you don’t, or if it’s an allergy, this recipe can be used for all sorts of nuts or seeds!  Experiment!

8 Responses to “Raw Almond Milk!!”

  1. marie February 27, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    you are a health *nut* ! it’s great. be my personal chef? or, better yet, let’s just cook together soon :D this recipe sounds/looks delish…

    • veg-unite February 27, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      Thanks giirl!! Yes let’s cook together soon!! Maybe over spring break?! Damn you college! One year left!!!!! Then I’ll be freeeee! Sort of…

  2. Chanda Alalem January 24, 2013 at 2:58 am #

    almond milk reminds me of a very fine cows milk that i drank in new zealand.*

    Head to our own blog too
    http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/radon-symptoms/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WeHeartVegan « Two Cheap Vegans - March 6, 2011

    […] Raw Almond Milk […]

  2. Hello Wednesday! « we heart vegan - March 9, 2011

    […] cup raw almond milk, depending on how thick or thin you like […]

  3. Sweet Potato Cinnamon Buns « we heart vegan - March 21, 2011

    […] warm with a big glass of Raw Almond Milk, you’ll need […]

  4. Chocolate Chip Vegan Thin Mints « we heart vegan - June 9, 2011

    […] 1/4 cup fresh made almond milk […]

  5. Day 18 and Pudding! « we heart vegan - September 8, 2011

    […] cup liquid (like water or raw nut milk – I made a fast cashew milk by combining 3/4 cup water with 1 Tbsp. raw cashew […]

Leave a Reply

