Cafe Mocha

4 Feb

I must say… once in a while I crave a good fresh brewed cup of coffee!  This past summer I was visiting my Nana in the Cape when she brewed some coffee and I had nothing to lighten it up with.  I was worried at first, all I remember is seeing my dad drink that black coffee and trying a small sample and spitting it out right away!!  I did not like the bitterness.

Well, to make a blog story short, I loved the coffee black!!  I had two cups!  From then on I get my coffee black (maybe season it with a little cinnamon).

Like treating yourself to dessert, I like to treat myself to a cup of coffee with some soy or almond milk once in a while.

Thanks Julie for the french press :)

Cafe Mocha

Serves 2

1 cup almond milk, unsweetened original

1 packet hot chocolate

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 tsp. espresso

1 cup french press brewed coffee

Directions:

In a small saucepan, dissolve the hot chocolate in the almond milk.  Add the vanilla extract and espresso and bring to a simmer.

Meanwhile, brew the coffee in the french press.

Add the coffee to the small saucepan and let cook 2-4 minutes to thicken and reduce slightly.

Divide between two mugs (or drink it all!).  Enjoy.

The best part?  It’s not 5-7 dollars!!!

Leave a Reply

