Vegan Pea Soup

23 Jan

So much snow this month I love it!!!  Winter definitely has come early!!  We have a great stocked freezer with soups and stews, but I keep craving something different.

Something I want to do this month is cook from the cupboard.  I love new recipes with exotic ingredients, but I always have a stocked kitchen with grain staples and spices.  I want to empty out my bulk drawer and see if I can make recipes from what I have (of course this doesn’t count when it comes to veggies… that is a necessity fresh!).

Tonight I was staring down my bulk drawer hardcore waiting for one of the foods to budge… split peas!!  Okay!

Vegan Pea Soup

Serves 4

2 Tbsp. olive oil

1 medium jalapeno, seeded and diced

3 medium carrots, chopped

3 garlic cloves, chopped

Salt and fresh ground pepper

1/2 tsp. paprika

1/8 tsp. cumin

1 bay leaf

1 cup split peas, rinsed and picked through

2 cups vegetable broth

1/2 cup bulgur

1 cup water

Directions:

Heat the olive oil in a medium saucepan; add the jalapeno, garlic and carrots.  Saute until aromatic, but still firm.  Add spices and split peas and stir to combine.  Pour in the broth, cover, bring to a boil then let simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add bulgur and water, recover and simmer for another 10 minutes, stirring often.

This was extremely delicious, toot-toot; that was my horn.  I’ve never made split pea soup from scratch so I’m kinda proud about how good it came out (my favorite is from Whole Foods Market – just no meat – and all you do is chop and put all your ingredients into a crock-pot).

* Somethings I would do differently next time:  add celery, onion, and more carrots!!! *

Just found another great one from WFM: Split Pea-Sweet Potato Soup

2 Responses to “Vegan Pea Soup”

  1. frugalveganmom January 23, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    This looks great! I’ve never cooked with the green split peas before, just added the link to my favorites folder under “recipes”.

    Right now I have a pot of regular lentil soup on the stove, still haven’t taken the time to figure out the difference between lentils and split peas? Same thing, different colors, different names?

    • veg-unite January 23, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      All I need to know about split peas and lentils: COMFORTING!!! I love how they make every soup (or loaf) delicious and hearty! I’m glad you “favorited” the recipe… but now you must let me know how you liked it after you make it!!

Leave a Reply

