Breakfast for dinner.

18 Jan

So tonight I didn’t feel much like cooking and after my super greens smoothie filled with spinach and watercress, I didn’t feel like a huge meal either.  Growing up I remember having breakfast for dinner up to three times a week… and loved it!!  I haven’t really done that in a while so I thought I’d give it a go.

Chorizo and Broccoli Scrambled Tofu

Serves 1

1 tsp. sesame oil (any oil would do)

1/2 cup broccoli florets

1/4 cup baby spinach

1/4 cup water

2 Tbsp. yellow onion

1/2 link vegan chorizo sausage

1/2 cup extra firm tofu, crumbled

Salt and pepper to taste

1 Tbsp. nutritional yeast

Sprinkle of toasted sesame seeds

1 tsp. Earth Balance butter

Directions:

Heat the oil in a non-stick skillet; add the broccoli and spinach and heat, on medium-low until the oil is absorbed.  Add 1/4 cup water and cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are tender and the water has evaporated, about 5-7 minutes depending on the size of broccoli.  Add the onion and sausage and cook for 4-5 minutes until the onions are softened and the sausage is heated throughout.  Add in the crumbled tofu and season with salt and pepper.  Heat for 2-3 minutes until sizzling and heated throughout.

Sprinkle on the nutritional yeast and stir to combine.

Spoon onto a plate, sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds (hopefully you have some left after you made your sushi the other night ;) ) and top with 1 tsp. Earth Balance butter.

This was a great dinner!!  If you’ve never tried scrambled tofu it is a must!!  The texture is so similar to that of egg it is insane.  The chorizo I could have done without, but hey, it’s on sale and I love to try new things!!  Enjoy!!

3 Responses to “Breakfast for dinner.”

  1. kim January 19, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    This is your mother!!! Breakfast for dinner up to 3 times a week!!! What kind of mother do you think I am? It couldn’t have been more than twice a week as I recall
    Love your mother :)

    • veg-unite January 19, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      I guess I remember what I want to be true!! Haha! Bet we never made tofu scrambles though!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Roasted Dirty Broccoli « we heart vegan - February 8, 2011

    […] served the roasted broccoli for lunch alongside some scrambled tofu.  Great […]

Leave a Reply

