Dinner Granola

6 Jan

Early this fall oats in the bulk section were on sale and, since I was on a huge oatmeal kick, I bought a lot… and when I say a lot, I mean a lot.  Needless to say I began to get busier and busier and making oatmeal in the morning kind of took the back seat.  Every time I open my bulk drawer I see those oats looking back at me… so tonight I gave in!  I decided to make some granola.

I wanted to create a granola that will keep me full for hours and give me more than just some carbs, protein and fiber.  So I included a wide array of nuts and seeds, therefore this meant that there is a wide array of vitamins, minerals, and omegas!

Oh! Mega Granola

Serves 12

3 cups old fashioned oats

1/3 cup uncooked organic quinoa

2 small bananas, mashed

2 Tbsp. sesame oil

1 tsp. vanilla

1/3 cup molasses

1/8 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 Tbsp. pumpkin seeds

2 Tbsp. pecans

2 Tbsp. walnuts

2 Tbsp. sunflower seeds

2 Tbsp. peanuts

4 Tbsp. raisins

2 Tbsp. hemp seeds

2 Tbsp. wheat germ

1 Tbsp. flax meal

Directions:

Put the oats and the quinoa onto a rimmed baking sheet covered with parchment paper and bake for 10 minutes in a 350 F oven.

Stir then add in the nut/seed mixture; toast in the oven for 6 minutes more.

Meanwhile, prepare the wet mixture.  In a small bowl combine the mashed banana, sesame oil, vanilla, molasses, cinnamon and salt.  When the nut and oat mixture is done toasting, pour on the wet mixture.

Stir this well so that every bit is covered in the molasses mixture.  Add the raisins and put bake into the oven for 12 minutes longer.  Remove from the oven and let sit on a drying rack for at least 10 minutes before you break it apart.  Use the parchment paper (that I forgot to use) to help break the pieces free.  Put aside in mason jars and enjoy with dairy-free milk in the morning for breakfast, by itself as a snack in the afternoon, or over some dairy free yogurt for dessert!

This granola is a little higher in calories, but the calories are dense.  There is plenty of healthy fat, protein and fiber that will satisfy your hunger and keep you fuller longer.  If you want to lower the calorie content the 1/3 cup of molasses can be lowered to 1/4 and you could leave out the nuts.  The oats and quinoa taste incredible with some liquid sweetener, like molasses, maple syrup or brown rice syrup, and some spice.  Once you cook your own granola you won’t be able to look at the store bought stuff again the same!!

One Response to “Dinner Granola”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We’ve Moved!!! « Two Cheap Vegans - January 6, 2011

    […] Oh! Mega Granola […]

Leave a Reply

