Nice Cream!

5 Jan

I always get a hankering for something sweet after a… well actually, I don’t need “a something” for me to get that sweet tooth!  So since it’s a new year, and it’s time for a healthy fresh start after these holidays, I wanted to have a sweet that wouldn’t wreck my day.  I remembered a recipe I saw once called Banana Soft Serve and since I keep my bananas cubed up in the freezer at all times, I thought it would be a great time to finally try it out!

‘Nana Choco. Chip Nice Cream

Serves 2

1 1/2 cups chopped frozen banana

1 tsp. vanilla

1 Tbsp. vanilla almond milk

1 Tbsp. vegan chocolate chips

Directions:

Put all ingredients in to a food processor and pulse until softened and almost completely smooth.  You’ll most likely need to scrap the bowl down a few times.

In the end the chocolate chips will still be somewhat whole, if this is not something you want then you can either use chocolate powder or melt the chocolate and pour it over top.  So many ideas are flowing through my head right now I can’t even control it!! Using chocolate almond milk instead of vanilla!  Adding in frozen chopped vegan peanut butter cups, drizzling on some warm peanut butter, or better yet, both!! Adding a few frozen berries like strawberries, blueberries or blackberries!  Adding frozen mango and shredded coconut!! Okay… now I need to stop brainstorming and finish enjoying what is in front of me.  Creamy, decadent, yet healthy, homemade banana soft serve.

 

Enjoy!!

6 Responses to “Nice Cream!”

  1. Gena January 5, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    So glad that you liked it!

  2. frugalveganmom April 21, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    I’ve tried this recipe from Choosing Raw also, doesn’t it work out amazing?! We did it with strawberries in our vitamix too.

    • veg-unite April 21, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

      It is amazing!! I was actually dreaming about it tonight, but then I started feeling cold and couldn’t bring myself to make any haha!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We’ve Moved!!! « Two Cheap Vegans - January 5, 2011

    […] Banana Chocolate Chip Soft Serve […]

  2. Chocolate Chip and Almond Butter Balls « we heart vegan - April 11, 2011

    […] Do you know what would make this even more fantastic?  Adding it to some Banana Soft Serve… Just like […]

  3. Banana Soft Serve with Cookie Dough Crumbles « we heart vegan - July 14, 2011

    […] I admit, in the past year or more since going vegan, I still don’t shy away from a great dessert.  I don’t really buy vegan ice creams because not only are they expensive at the grocery store, but they don’t satisfy the same as a warm baked ginger cookie or a strawberry-lemonade cupcake straight from the oven.  Thanks to Angela from OhSheGlows (among other who inspired her), I have found a way to be creatively satisfied with healathy-ish desserts while still satisfying my sweet tooth.  Banana soft serve!!! […]

Leave a Reply

