Never ending holidays!

2 Jan

Today was a busy day! Julie and I went to my sisters apartment to dye Julie’s hair a GORGEOUS red color!! My sister did a great job! Then we hung out and ate tons of my grandfathers homemade chex-mix! Yum!

Also today my aunts, Tracey and Sue, cousin William and nana came over to open Christmas presents!! Because of the Christmas snow they weren’t able to drive up from the Cape so here they are!  Ryan and I got some great stuff for the kitchen like a pizza stone from Tracey and a great knife from Sue… makes cooking a lot more fun and easy.

This recipe was created by my mother! It was an amazing Hoppin’ John recipe that she had cut out from Boston Globe Magazine and since she always does such a great job accommodating Ryan and I, she decided to give this new recipe a try.  And let me tell you I’m glad she did!  Not only am I amazed that I have gone this long without trying black eyed peas, I can’t wait to add this to my everyday use recipe pile!! So easy!

Hoppin’ John Bean Salad

Serves 6 as a main dish or 8 as a side dish

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 medium yellow onion, chopped

1 red bell pepper, chopped

2-4 garlic cloves, chopped

2 15-oz. cans black eyed peas, rinsed and drained

1/4 cup vegetable broth

Salt and pepper to taste

2 green onions, sliced

1/4 cup flat leaf parsley, minced

Additions = avocado, rice and salsa

Directions:

Heat the olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the onion, bell pepper, and garlic. Sauté this until the onions are translucent, about 5 minutes.

Stir in the black eyed peas, broth, and salt and pepper. Reduce the heat to low and cook for about 10 minutes. Stir in the green onions and parsley.

Serve this warm over brown rice and salsa (my mom served it alongside ginger rice and rice pilaf as well as some spicy salsa).

This recipe is so versatile! I can’t wait to try this on my own. I’m thinking summer time I’ll serve this cold along side some hummus, lettuce and whole wheat wraps! It’s a great addition for rice, pasta, salad, wraps or on it’s own as some quick protein.

Stats per serving (without the avocado, rice and salsa): 170 calories, 3 grams of fat, no cholesterol, 420 milligrams of sodium, 31 grams carbohydrates, 5 grams of protein

 

So far, this year has been quite healthy!  I’m feeling very good about 2011.

5 Responses to “Never ending holidays!”

  1. kim January 14, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    This recipe tastes sooo much better than it looks!!! I couldn’t believe how tasty it is. It only takes about 10 minutes (not the rice) and really is incredible. Much better with the salsa too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We’ve Moved!!! « Two Cheap Vegans - January 3, 2011

    […] Hoppin’ John Bean Salad […]

  2. 11 Protein Power Snacks for 2011 « we heart vegan - January 4, 2011

    […] beans or white beans, and now that I’ve discovered how delicious they are I also keep black eyed peas on […]

  3. Blogaday 2011 « we heart vegan - January 19, 2011

    […] 1/4 cup leftover Hoppin’ John bean salad […]

  4. Hoppin' John | Never Enough Thyme - Recipes and food photographs featurning southern cooking. - August 29, 2011

    […] then I found something familiar! Hoppin’ John!Why, there’s not a Southerner alive who hasn’t been eating Hoppin’ John since […]

Leave a Reply

