Finally!! Pecan Sandies!!

25 Dec

This is a holiday favorite of mine! I would eat these every Christmas Eve from, ironically, my aunt Sandy! I’ve never given them a go, but I thought, since this was my first Christmas being vegan, I should bring something to the party!

This recipe I found on the Whole Foods Market website in the recipe section.  I did a few modifications.

Vegan Pecan Crumblies

Yields 48

1 cup Earth Balance butter

3/4 cup powdered sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 cup all purpose flour

1 cup pecans, finely processed

3/4 tsp. salt

Directions:

Cream the Earth Balance butter and the powdered sugar until light and fluffed, then add the vanilla; meanwhile, process the pecans in a food prrocessor until finely processed, yielding 1 cup.

In a separate bowl, combine the pecans, flours and salt.

Stir the pecan mixture into the creamed butter and sugar until incorporated.  Dump out onto a sheet of plastic wrap and wrap tightly.  Refrigerate overnight.

one…

And two!! I just had to double this recipe!

DAY TWO:

Take out of the refrigerator and dump out onto a clean surface.  Use a teaspoon, or any scoop, to portion out the cookies.  Roll them each in powdered sugar and place on a baking sheet an inch apart.

Bake in a preheated 375 F oven for 9-10 minutes; let them cool for 4-5 minutes then dredge a second time in powdered sugar.  Set onto a drying rack and cool completely.

I hope everyone had a great holiday, got spoiled by Santa, and enjoyed many cookies.  I’m stuffed and it’s time for bed.  See you next year Santa – these cookies are for you!

2 Responses to “Finally!! Pecan Sandies!!”

  1. Ryan December 26, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    They were so good! They were sweet and a little salty… My kind of cookie!

    • veg-unite December 26, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

      you’re my kind of cookie!

Leave a Reply

