Birthdays and Kombucha!!

4 Dec

Yesterday was my friend Annaliessa’s birthday!! Yay!! I just had to make some cupcakes!! I used the Applebutter cake recipe, but put the batter into cupcake tins instead of a pan and since I used up all my applebutter (sadly) I used applesauce.  Then I topped it with some spiced buttercream frosting… seriously amazing frosting.  If I could eat it by the spoon I would (unfortunately nutrition students frown upon the whole spoonful of frosting idea…)

 

I loosely followed the buttercream frosting recipe from The Vegan Table, but added my own kick to it!  Spice!!

 

Spiced Buttercream frosting

Makes about 3/4-1 cup frosting

1/2 cup Earth Balance butter, at room temperature

3 cups powdered sugar (sifted or not)

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. vanilla

2 Tbsp. almond milk (plain, unsweetened)

 

Directions:

Beat the Earth Balance with a mixer (or a spatula if you’re ready to build some muscle) until lighter in color and fluffy.

 

Add the powdered sugar, by the 1/4 cup full, until incorporated.  Beat for a few minutes until light and fluffy.

Add the almond milk when necessary, but make sure you don’t use more than the 2 tablespoons!  That would just result in a sloppy mess!!

Add the remaining ingredients, slowly.  Beat a few minutes to aerate.

Scoop the frosting into a piping bag or a ziplock freezer bag.  Unfortunately I had to throw away my pastry bags, so my pastry tips sit around lonely :( I used a small ziplock freezer bag with a bit of the bottom corner cut out, it worked ok…

Don’t judge my sloppiness… I woke up early before school to frost these puppies and I think they came out gorgeous!

 

Happy Birthday Annaliessa!!!

 

And in other news….

 

I FINALLY STARTED MY BATCH OF KOMBUCHA!

I’ve been waiting and anticipating my kombucha… and now finally it is time!

Lovely Betsy (the wonderful human who brought some great gingerbread biscotti to friends-giving) was kind enough to give me a “mother” from her kombucha stock.  I squealed as I peeked inside the large yogurt container… the “mother” looks like a live creature…

Well… I guess, it is a live creature… but you’ve got to admit, it looks like some kind of sea creature, right?  MY sea creature!!

I brewed some green tea, dissolved in some sugar and dropped that kombucha “mother” into her new environment.  Now it’s time to cross my fingers and hope she ferments!!

 

 

 

Has anyone ever made kombucha before?

Leave a Reply

